Thursday, Dec. 25, 2003 11:00 pm

Christmas Day 2003

What a wonderful Christmas day. How could it be any better? A bigger stomach and more time is all I can think of.

We opened presents this morning and drank coffee. And I got the accordian I asked for! It is a beauty...all red and green and little jewels along the front. When I upgrade to Diaryland Gold I will put in a picture of me and my accordian. I have never even had a chance to fool around with one so it was cool to actually make it make sounds. Maybe not good sounds, but sounds nonetheless. Since I can play a keyboard I could play its keyboard like a piano, which I'm sure has many drawbacks. I have no clue how to use the bass buttons on the left hand so I will soon be taking some accordian lessons.

Mark had told me we were going out to lunch but it was a surprise where we had reservations. I hadn't tried to guess, but I had an inkling it was Green Pastures, the old home of John Henry Faulk on Live Oak that is so fabulous. It was. It was wonderful. A lavish buffet and the place was all decorated for Christmas and everyone was in a festive mood. The food was so delicious. I had trout, lobster, shrimp, salmon, prime rib, carrots, green beans, potatoes, salads, pate, breads, and about six kinds of dessert. They have an amazing "milk punch" which sounds unappetizing but is really wonderful... sort of like eggnog, with milk, brandy, rum, ice cream, and nutmeg.

We ate and strolled the grounds and took some pictures. Then we went up to see my grandmother at the nursing home. I have been feeling so guilty about not visiting her and not taking care of her. She looked good and was quite aware of things today, though maybe not really aware that today was Christmas. We visited a while there and then dropped by to see B!. This is a harder Christmas for her this year since her mother died this summer. She and her brother were going to go see Cold Mountain. She gave me a piece from the Beatle artists that are always at the Armadillo Bazaar. We didn't go to it this year, so it was nice to add a piece to my collection. This was a wall piece that says, "Whisper words of wisdom, Let It Be." I'm going to put it in my office at work and keep it in mind!

We came home and visited with neighbors. The boys across the street had new boots, jeans, shirts, belt buckles, and hats. And the younger one (he's almost 4 I think) had a new chain saw to complete his ensemble. Boys!

We napped away the afternoon again (I hope no one ever thinks I use "nap" as a euphemism for sex, when I say nap, I always mean nap). Tonight I addressed some more Christmas cards, sort of took inventory of where I am on the card situation, Mark talked to his grandmother, aunt, and a lot of cousins near Tyler, I practiced the accordian some more and sent out an email with a photo and sound file, and we watched TV (again, "watching TV" is not a euphemism for sex).

It was a wonderful Christmas. Nice to be home and not be on the highway right now.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland