Monday, Dec. 22, 2003 11:23 pm

Broadcast From Zilker

I wish my evenings wouldn't go this way. I came home from work needing to do some more work here at the house. I ate some stew (a good stew that I put in the crockpot this morning... so nice to come home to comfort food) and watched some TV and started falling asleep in front of the TV. Decided I couldn't do work that tired so I might as well go to bed and get a good start in the morning. Good idea, but once I get up and put on my nightgown and brush my teeth I am more awake and not really ready to go to bed. I wish I could just take a pill guaranteed to knock me out for 7 hours and then wake me up wide awake and refreshed and ready to do all the things that need to be done.

I broadcast from Zilker Park today from the Trail of Lights. Seems so silly to broadcast in broad daylighowt at an event that starts after dark. It was pretty after sunset when they started turning the lights on, but by then I was done and I got out of there. I've never seen all the bicycles that are allowed in first. Lots of folks with Santa hats and reindeer antlers, lots with lights attached to their bikes.

I had to laugh at Cotton, my crazy co-worker today. As I've written in here in the past, Willie makes a yearly visit to the station to sit in for the morning show just after Christmas. Don't know if he'll be there again this year, but probably. Of the 150 or 200 that work at the station, probably no more than 40 are aware that this ever happens, most of them won't be working when it happens, and most forget from year to year that this happens. They might be reminded when they turn on the radio that day (if they do), but there isn't a problem of Willie being swarmed by crazed fans. But Cotton decides this might be a problem. He e-mails everyone in the building to ask they not invite themselves into the studio and that they not inundate Willie with photo and autograph requests. If anything will draw a crowd, that e-mail will.

I hate to jynx anything, but this is 22 entries in a row! Not quality stuff, I'll grant you, but something to be said for consistency.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland