Tuesday, Dec. 23, 2003 10:55 pm

Almost Christmas Eve

Let the holiday begin! I am home from work and don't (technically) have to go back until Friday. Yes, being the loyal devoted anal-retentive that I am, I may drop in tomorrow to double-check on one thing that I couldn't do tonight. And, of course, I brought home some work.

I really like working at home. I got up early this morning (just like I wanted) and had my heater going in my office, hot coffee alongside the computer, Christmas music on my little stereo, and I worked for about three hours non-stop. Loved it. Wished I could do more of that and less work at the office.

I am marveling at my lack of stress this Christmas season. There is a little of the usual melancholia, but not true stress/fear/anxiety. I'm pretty calm. Mark asked for nothing this year and I'm taking him up on it. Ha. Of course, not really. He had mentioned that we should give ourselves one of those expensive Sharper Image air filters for Christmas. I went online and found refurbished ones for half the price. Figured it will be a good way to at least see if they work. If it would help filter out some of the cedar and cat hair, we'd be a lot better off, I'm sure.

As for other people giving me gifts, I have gifts for some friends and not others and I'm accepting graciously when people are giving me gifts without fretting about what I should have given them. I haven't doled out my tiny little gifts for the salespeople yet, but last year I made them into New Year's gifts and I think I will do the same thing next week so I don't have to worry about getting them together.

The only ones I'm worried a little bit about are the gifts for Mark's mom and step-dad. I bought them a couple of things and Mark said he would mail them but he hasn't yet. And he hasn't shown any interest in sending any gifts to his brother, so I'm just letting him take the lead on all of that since it is his family.

One thing I've pondered this Christmas, too, is that women give the gifts and men accept them. Men don't stress out over the gift-giving or card-sending. I've sent out about a third of the cards I need to send but I'm not worrying over that either! Wow, Chinese herbs really really do work!

Don't know how tomorrow will shape up. I hope to eat Mexican food since so many of the Mexican places close between Christmas and New Year's. I hope it is a low-key, no worry Christmas Eve.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland