December 10, 2002 11:25 am

In-laws visit

The in-law visit is over and they are on their way. I am not a great hostess for anyone other than my own family. For my family, I know that the more Christmas candies and cookies and eggnog and fruitcake, the better. For others, I know they would blanch at the thought of eating SUGAR so I don't quite know how to entertain. I bought some beautiful ruby red Texas grapefruit, thinking that would make us look healthy and urbane. But, no, they can't eat grapefruit because they take Lipitor. -sigh- We did take them to eat at El Arroyo and they ate with gusto. I was afraid they might order the taco salad and carefull scrape away the meat.

After dinner we drove by the capitol and governor's mansion to see the lights and the Christmas tree. Then we went up to 37th street and walked down that amazing block. I have been there once before with my parents but we didn't get out of the car. This time we parked and walked and that is absolutely required to get the full effect of the light show. Our favorite house had the most unusual array of lit blocks along an edge of the house. It was stripes of light going up and down next to stripes of light going side to side in many colors. Couldn't figure out what it was or how they did it until we got up close. They were full packages or Christmas lights STILL IN THE ORIGINAL PLASTIC PACKAGING!. I don't know how many strings of light an electrical outlet can handle, but they must have had fifty on that corner of the house. Incredibly cool. The efforts people put into getting lights WAY up into the tops of trees was unbelievable. If I EVER got Mark to do something like that, those lights would be up in the tree until a tornado took them down.

We came home and visited some more and admired the cat and his antics. This morning we drank coffee and visited until they had to go. I'm glad to be home alone again for a while before work.

I got an obscene phone call on the answering machine yesterday. With my newfound "celebrity" I am worrying more about my openness. I worry about having this journal up for everyone to see. I worry about meeting listeners out in public places and them knowing too much about me. I worry about going to the therapist and having HIM know too much about me or having a listener ever know that I see a therapist and judging me on that. Lord, a simple job sure has added lots of worries into my head.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland