August 05, 2003 1:05 am

Party girl weekend

I'm getting so pathetic about updating this journal that I couldn't find the link in my favorites to do the update. I don't even know where the dang journal IS anymore.

I'd better start getting witty and clever and prolific because I'm supposed to be on a panel for JournalCon and I'm sure that will drive literally tens of people to my site to read my __________, gee, I'm so clever I can't even think the word I need. I want to use "cleverness" but I've already used clever in the paragraph (now three times!) and I don't want to get redundant or repetitive or, heaven forbid, repeat myself or say something over and over.

This morning I was going to write a clever (dang it, did it again) entry about what I would do at home if I didn't have to rush off to work. I had woken up WAY too late this morning and didn't have time for much more than a shower and feeding all the critters. I had hoped to get to work early because Cotten went with the morning team out of town and I would have my office to myself all day long. I had the beginning of the piece in my head and didn't have time to write it at all. I guess now it would start with "If I didn't have to go to work today, I would update my journal first and then I would pot plants, pay bills, pack up my china, etc. etc."

The china is being packed because we are having a new kitchen floor installed soon and then carpeting throughout the house. The house will be so clean smelling and un-hairball-stained! I can't wait. Except I can wait because there is a lot of packing to be done. Sure, they move furniture and appliances and take care of lots of things, but I have a lot of crap that has to be handled.... china and crystal, computer stuff, boxes of books, blah blah.

I had a weekend of being the party girl. I guess I am feeling better to have had the energy for this at all. Friday night I went to a new club west of town to see the CGP and his band. It was fun. There were other people besides the CGP that I knew there so I wasn't just a groupie (once I got there anyway). Nice place and I had fun. I would have enjoyed a quiet conversation with CGP and never got that, but that is okay. I really enjoy the band leader and the band was good, too.

Saturday I worked all through the day, but then went to the Spoke to see the Geezinslaws. Always an amazing experience, it was extra fun Saturday night. I bought an old album recently of theirs and took it to be signed and I am going to frame it and put it in my office at work. I also had a picture of us from Willie's picnic to be signed. My weatherman was also there alone so we celebrated his birthday together. It was an experience watching people react to a TV weatherman. Everyone knows him and everyone wants to ask him why it isn't raining. It would drive me nuts to be that well known.

Sunday Mark and I went to the outlet malls and fought the crowds of tax-free weekend and had a nice time eating and shopping. Last night he played again with Guy and I went to see the experience at Antone's. I got to meet the new female bass player and she was very nice. She dates Ray Benson and she said he had nice things to say about being on my show, which I was happy to hear.

The big ratings did come in last week and we were number two overall, which you would think would be good, but some of the numbers weren't so great. I haven't heard yet how I did in afternoons. I might ask tomorrow.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland