Saturday, Apr. 22, 2023 9:56 am

Free Day

Time flies. It really does. Let's see, I went that that retirement party out of town (but just an hour away so I was back home that night), then out of town for Easter with my Tyler friends, I actually worked for TWO WHOLE DAYS, then back to Amarillo for Aunt Dorothy's funeral, then home, then to Austin for a banquet last weekend. Worked all this week and today, glorious today, I am home with no commitments.

I'm debating with going out to lunch at a media group lunch. It would be nice to meet some radio people that live in Dallas, but that would involved getting dressed and out and paying for a meal, etc. Magic 8 Ball says "unlikely."

Yesterday was such a weird thing I will rehash it rather than the important things going on.... I did my usual morning stuff, I did my radio show, I started my work day, the cats were bugging me so I shut my office door. I was jamming to the music and had it turned up HIGH when I hear my office door being pushed open (it is very tight so it takes a good push). I thought it was the cats, but also had that thought "Well I guess I should turn around and make sure it isn't a person" and it WAS! Fortunately it was my sister and it was only a mild shock, not a real scare. But she was PISSED. My phone had been on a desk charging in another room all morning. Apparently (and this is the weirdest part of the day) my tracks weren't in the radio station's computer and I wasn't "on the air." So two coworkers from the station had been calling and texting and worrying about me. One of them messaged my sister on Facebook (because they don't have her number) to check on me. She, too, couldn't get me on the phone so she is certain I am dead dead dead. She was already spending her inheritance as she drove over, expecting to find me with a cracked open head on the floor. But, no, I was alive so she might have been unhappy as well as mad. Okay, that's all weird enough, but WHERE were my tracks??? The memory stick I use was in the computer, but what happened? Did I get distracted and just forget to do it? I always wait until they are all loaded and the dates are right before I back out of the station's computer so I know I didn't even get that far, I wouldn't have started loading them and had it not work. I must have gotten sidetracked, but I have no memory why...... That sort of shit WORRIES me. Am I losing it? I know there have been several times I've told my radio friend to keep track of these fuck ups because it might mean I'm losing my mind. Weird weird.

I'm sure a doctor would say I'm grieving and missing Mom. That may all be true. I think of her frequently, but it isn't really sad sad, just sad that she's gone. It really went as good as it could and it is a big big relief to finally know what would happen. I had so many worries about her money running out, her being much worse physically and mentally, etc. Worrying did change anything and it wasn't worth it, obviously, it all turned out well.

I'm not sure I've even put in here that Aunt Dorothy died. That was another trip to Amarillo. Got home to find the last aunt, age 92, is now in nursing care with hospice. I don't know how bad it is. She might improve with good care for a little while, but it sounded like she was a lot like Mother at the end and it could be any day. Her funeral would be closer, thank goodness. She doesn't have too many descendants to be at her funeral, but as a beloved teacher and church leader, I expect the church would be packed for her.

Before || After
Older Entries
Approaching Mother's Day - Saturday, May. 13, 2023
Clean house - Wednesday, May. 10, 2023
Monday Start - Monday, May. 08, 2023
Cleaning Up - Saturday, May. 06, 2023
Willie's 90th, Bless Him - Saturday, Apr. 29, 2023
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland