September 11, 2003 1:35 pm

Another year goes by

Mark made it home safely from Holland Monday night and I was grateful, having read the warnings of terrorist threats resurfacing and planes flying from foreign countries might be the target. Safely, he was home, the cherry pie was ready and he was happy to see me.

Today has been a normal day. Thank God for normal days. Let's not ever again take for granted how wonderful it is to just get up and eat your cereal and go to the grocery store and stock up on dog food and scan the headlines about JLo and Ben's wedding and come home to eat a piece of leftover Popeye's and go off to work. That is life. It's a very good life.

I have avoided the TV and the radio today. I don't want to see images of frightened people watching their city collapse. I remember it clearly enough without having to see it and hear it again and again. I will mention it this afternoon and probably play a patriotic song or two because that seems to be expected of me, but I want people to just appreciate the normalcy they are experiencing and not disturb it too much. I know they remember, too.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland