2000-05-22 9:56 pm

Jackson weekend

I am one exhausted puppy. This was a great weekend but I am a walking zombie.

This was the weekend I went to Jackson, Mississippi, to go to a music festival, Jubilee Jam, for work. My radio station there (and our sister stations) were the sponsors and I went to do a public appearance and meet my "co-workers" there. It was a great time.

I flew up with three co-workers early Saturday morning. The OM there picked us up, showed us around Jackson, took us to breakfast and gave us t-shirts and wonderful gift baskets full of candies, station items and Cokes.

My Austin co-workers went their own way to do their thing. I went to the country music stage and met my Jackson co-workers. The nicest people! They all embraced me like family and included me in everything we did. I helped make winners and stage presentations. I met listeners and stars. The rain poured most of the day. We were all soaked before we even got started. I'm sure the pictures of the event will be quite flattering.

I got to see the group River Road, Keith Urban, Tim Rushlow (who was the lead singer of Little Texas) and Joe Diffie. All were nice, friendly and so talented.

My station took me to dinner and then one of the guys took me to the station to give me the tour. I got in about midnight after having been up since, well, noon the day before. I slept hard.

Today we had breakfast at the hotel and saw two of co-workers from Austin as they came in for the event and we left to come back home. Flights were all uneventful, just long.

Talked to Mark tonight and got to tell him I was home safely and relieve his mind. He is very afraid of flying and especially of ME flying. He and the band are on their trip home now. They will spend tonight in Joplin, MO, and be home tomorrow. Hooray!!!

I did some much needed gardening this evening and swept the patio and got it a little more in shape. I ended up sweaty and muddy from head to foot but glad to get it done.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland