Saturday, Jul. 15, 2023 10:03 am

This Kind of Sounds Like I Had a Full Week

Feeling pretty good this morning! Too hot to go out and do any yardwork, but MAYBE I'll accomplish something IN the house? We'll see.

I do have extra time on my hands today. My radio boss called this week and decided maybe I didn't need to be on the air on Saturdays. So he changed the schedule and I have no Saturday show---BUT he didn't change my salary. So I got a nice raise and back to 5 days a week. Very nice. I also have a remote coming up in two weeks for a little bit more. Just these little bits of money make a huge difference in my budget.

I had lunch with my old friend Judith from Austin this week. She is so fun and easy to talk to. I am worried for her granddaughter, though. She told me her granddaughter has been having some issues and ran away from home, even throwing her ID and cell phone away. She's home and fine, but the issue, she says, is that the girl dresses "like what we used to call a tomboy" and she's kind of stocky and "girls at school are hitting on her." Obviously the poor child is having some issues with her identity and needs help. I know the grandparents would (likely) never acknowledge someone changing genders. I don't know about her parents. I don't know the child so I can't help, but it sounds like she is on a dangerous path and depressed and needs help and understanding. It makes me sad that there are probably so many children like that in this world.

The same day I had lunch with her, my sister invited me to dinner with them. So two REAL meals in one day. I don't think I've had a real meal since then. Almost too much socializing for one day. But it was nice to be invited... now I need to return the favor again.

I've been messaging on Facebook with a friend from the '80s that I reconnected with once Facebook came along. We've messaged and commented for years, but a lot more lately and sometimes all through an evening or day, back and forth. We were messaging and he gave me his phone number and just said, "Just so you have it." So I surprised him Monday and called and we had a really good visit for an hour. He's very easy to talk to.

It's very strange, though. We were friends and had a couple of friend dates back in those days (never kissed him and didn't want a romance). I realize that he is 60 and not 25 now, but there are no pictures on his Facebook so I can't picture what he must look like. My Facebook has pictures all over it so there is no doubt that I've gained LOTS of weight over the years and I've aged. He likely has, too. I'm sure I would still see the young guy in there, but it is just a little -- unsettling? I have no romantic intentions now either. I don't want to date, I don't want to feel that excitement again.

I've laughed since being divorced that I just want a friend that would just slob out and watch TV with me and not care that my hair is unwashed and the house is a mess, etc. But I recognize that I do NOT want the same in HIM... I want a guy that does clean up and takes pride in himself. It makes me laugh because obviously that's what anyone would want from me, too. But I'm not ready for that life now and don't think I will for a long while.

I don't think it is a problem with this guy, though. I didn't really realize it much at the time, but he was a stoner then and I feel like he is now. He inherited his father's house and lives in it and hasn't worked since he got laid off when Covid began. He is introverted and socially anxious and I have a feeling he fills his days with pot, TV, and maybe his guitar. But talking on the phone has been pleasant and he also sounds as reluctant as I do to ever be in a relationship, so we'll keep talking from time to time.

I got news in my real fulltime job this week... I'm being shifted to a different boss on Monday and my job will probably change, but my title and salary don't. I only heard this from my current boss/friend so I don't know if it is all official yet or not. The new boss is a friend, too, a younger woman I am very fond of. I may have to go back to some of the responsibilities I used to have and dealing with clients sometimes. I guess that's okay. I survived before.

I have pulled out old diaries this week and relived 1985 and 1986. So interesting to read. I want to slap that young girl and get her out of her funk!! She hated her job and pursued other jobs in radio and seemed to actually have contacts and hope and good opportunities.... but she didn't follow through! I might have been in Dallas radio years sooner if I had done that. And made real money instead of the paltry $900 a month I was making. Sigh.

I am also mad at myself for absolutely having NO idea how to handle money, apparently. It seems like I just spent and spent and then when a bill was due that I didn't have money for I would write a hot check or get a loan from a credit card to cover it or borrow from my parents. I ate out at lunch and at dinner and went out drinking and to movies and comedy shows and concerts a LOT. Prices were pretty amazing. Looks like a MEAL cost like $4 and gas was 75-95 cents a gallon. I would spend $50 at the grocery and gasp at how much that was. Of course, all this is on a $900 a month budget.

I also was surprised how much I dated! In my mind I have never really dated. I feel like I never had guys calling me and asking me out. But maybe I did? There are several instances where I dated a guy several times where, in my mind, I maybe remember going out once. I was on the phone with men a lot. I was on the phone a lot period! I got a $300 phone bill that shocked me one month, too. Thank goodness we don't have long distance phone bills anymore! I had just moved to Dallas so I was on the phone to Mom and Dad and my Amarillo friends a lot in those days.

The 1986 diary has intrigued me enough to venture forward to 1987. I did start making some better money because I had moved into sales and 1987 was when the first nephew came along. I also began my traveling and speaking career toward the end of the year so there should be interesting things to find there.

And I sort of applied for a new volunteer opportunity this week. Trying to force myself out of my comfort zone and it really is a perfect type situation. There is a little local museum in a little house near me. I've never been in it. They have a need for docents to guide tours and help people there. I could do that! I love history and answering questions. And they are only open 16 hours a week, I think, over 4 days. It would give me the opportunity to be out of my house once a week AND socialize a tiny bit. We'll see. I applied Thursday and haven't heard anything.

Before || After
Older Entries
Reunion Catch-Up - Sunday, Aug. 20, 2023
Reunion Procrastination - Friday, Aug. 11, 2023
Barbie Movie - Saturday, Aug. 05, 2023
Phil is HOME - Sunday, Jul. 30, 2023
Phil is Missing - Sunday, Jul. 30, 2023
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland