Saturday, Jul. 08, 2023 10:53 am

Yard Work - Check

I'm covered in sweat. I think my outside work is complete for the day whether I want it to be or not. It was cloudy and there were even a few drops making me think it might rain. It didn't. I got some new iris planted around the shed and I got the trash in the yard picked up (ick, some pieces of cardboard covered in ants). Then the sun came out from behind the clouds and it felt like I'd be passing out any minute, so I've come inside. If I cool off and DRY off enough in the next thirty minutes I may continue house cleaning. If not, I'll go take a shower and wash my hair and then decide where the day goes.

July 4 was a very good holiday. I just piddled around until late afternoon and then I went over to the sister and brother-in-law's. We ate some barbecue brisket (just from a restaurant) and some corn salad, beans, potatoes, deviled eggs, and pie. Then sat out in the pool once the sun was behind the trees.

No excitement for the rest of the week except for a dentist appointment yesterday. Man those roll around so fast! I feel like I just saw her. Seeing her reminded me of her mother who is a longtime friend so I contacted her and we are going to lunch Tuesday. It will be nice to see her. I wish she lived closer. She's older and her health has been precarious at some points (where I seriously thought I would lose her), but I think she's in pretty good shape now.

Oh - last weekend my ex's best friend (his best man -- more than once!) called me. He's the one that I had dinner with recently and he was SO BORING. I'm sorry, but he was (to me-- probably fascinating to someone). He called and was asking about an album he couldn't find on iTunes or Spotify, a favorite from his younger days. I looked it up in my company's database and we did have it and I can download it, so I did. He said I could burn a CD and then that would give us an excuse to have dinner so I could give it to him. Horrors. I said I didn't even know HOW to burn a CD anymore. He was appalled. He burns a CD as a backup for his computer monthly (he's a geeky IT guy). I told him I would send him the digital files.

A day or so later I sent him the digital files. He shot back with an excited email and said he owed me a dinner to thank me, what was I doing Saturday night. Yikes, I did not know HOW to deal with this. I do my VERY best not to make lame excuses. I thought about it a day and then wrote him back and declined. I told him truthfully that I feel awkward in his presence since he is Mark's friend and not mine. I told him to feel free to call, message, or text anytime. He accepted it well so we are still "friends" with no dinners/meals/contact! Whew.

I learned the name of my home's design style: Dopamine Decor. If I like something and it makes me feel good, it can go in my house! This week I got my niece's drawing framed up and on the wall. Many will just see a childish drawing, but it is really good! She was 7 and drew a woman sitting on a stool painting a painting. It's drawn in pencil, but then she colored in the painting except for a corner where it wasn't finished. And there is color/paint on her paintbrush. The way the woman is sitting on the chair is really good for a kid. She's sort of a stick figure, but with a lot more expression to her body. I thought it was fabulous when I saw it on their refrigerator at Thanksgiving so I got a picture of it and framed it up. It looks so cute on my kitchen wall.

I've had some of those bouts of "where is this life going?" this week. Then I ease back and quit worrying about it. One thing I would like to do this weekend and in the coming days/weeks/months is pack up some of my crap. I don't need to give it away or sell it, I just need to put it away and get some more room in the house. Then, later on I can circulate it back in if it is important or know I don't need it and let it go. Hopefully that might me stop me from looking at something (this big pottery chip and dip bowl for instance) and thinking "I really should use this," and "This was handmade by an artist, I must keep it / I must SELL it," or "There's got to be some other use for this." And on and on. And then I put it back on the top of the refrigerator where It gets in my way from time to time. Cool pottery, vases, pieces was kind of thing with us before so I'll pack a box for them and someday figure out what I want to do with them.

Okay, a half hour has probably passed and my hair is still soaking wet. I'm going to do ONE sweaty task then shower and cool off and do my favorite thing --- sitting in front of the fan while I'm wet.

Before || After
Older Entries
Reunion Procrastination - Friday, Aug. 11, 2023
Barbie Movie - Saturday, Aug. 05, 2023
Phil is HOME - Sunday, Jul. 30, 2023
Phil is Missing - Sunday, Jul. 30, 2023
This Kind of Sounds Like I Had a Full Week - Saturday, Jul. 15, 2023
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland