Sunday, Jul. 30, 2023 10:24 am

Phil is Missing

I had gotten pretty regular about updating this every weekend. Where was I last weekend?

The biggest thing on my mind right now is WHERE IS PHIL THE CAT???? I have no idea. I do let him out from time to time. Yesterday I had to leave the house for most of the day so I didn't let him out. When I got home I don't know if I saw him or not. I was so wiped out I laid down and slept. Then I did notice he wasn't around. I looked and looked and checked outside and he is not here. He sometimes hides really really well, like an invisible cat, so I hoped he would reappear and I was so tired I had to go to bed. No cat this morning. I've been out back and out front and went around the side and to the alley. No sign. I feel like he will come back. The only way I can figure he got out was MAYBE when I pulled the car out and in the garage. I leave the laundry door open for them to get to their litter boxes. When I leave I check the garage for cats and assume that starting the car and then the noise of the door will make them jump and run into the house. I didn't see any cats jump and run or break for the outdoors. Same when I come back. I open the door and watch as it raises to make sure no cats emerge or freeze in the way of the car. But maybe he got out that way? Usually when he is out where he shouldn't be, he finds his way to the front or back door and knows that where I will let him in. I hope he is hope soon and I don't think of it again. It has me very uneasy. I have checked all his house hiding spots, worried I might find him dead. I don't have any placed he could be trapped...no closets or forgotten rooms. And, by this point he would have come to the food bowl sometime.

Otherwise.... I will be writing an effusive thank you note today! I got the most gorgeous piece of art Friday! It is a true gift from an artist-friend. It is a "mala." I've looked that up and learned a lot. Beautiful beads in a specific pattern, a long strand that can be a necklace or five bracelets. I won't go into the details, but it truly feels the need I've had to have this bohemian gypsy free spirit look I want and I want to incorporate it as a mantra/affirmation device as well. Amazing work. Unlike anything I expected!

Last weekend, when I wasn't hear writing, I went to a "wellness expo" with my sister. This is where they sell lots of the crystals and polished stones and pendulums and tarot cards and spirit guide cards and jewelry and just about everything else, too. I bought a jar of Brain Boost -- a powder of the key ingredient in turmeric and other things to, well, boost my brain. I've had it each day and haven't noticed any brain boosting. Although I did miss it one day and I think that was the day I got super sleepy. So, maybe? I also had a woo-woo chiropractor put Scientology like electronic things on my wrists to measure my nerve communication. Her first comment was "Your heart rate is really low." I said I knew and we're working on that. She talked me into a two-part consultation at their office. So I did go for part one this week, but it will be hard to sell me on it unless part two makes me leave feeling relaxed and energized and different. We'll see.

On Sunday we celebrated my sister's birthday and my brother-in-law's birthday at their house. The grandchildren were all there swimming. Both sons and one wife. It was a nice day and I enjoyed visiting with the boys and seeing the cute children. The two year old talks a lot and knows clearly what she is saying. Her parents can understand, but I do not and it is almost like she is speaking a different language, she's so sure of herself. She has bright red hair and is a little firecracker.

Had a meeting with my new boss at work. She said she feels weird managing me because she is lots younger than me and I have trained her on so much that she's learned. She's been with the company since she was an intern in college. Then part-time, then full-time, and now manager. I think she's wonderful and have no problem reporting to her. She gave me a lot of the work she is supposed to be doing but doesn't have time for now as a manager. It's the kind of stuff I like to do and hopefully she'll know I'm busy and can't deal with clients.

I DID deal with clients yesterday, but in my radio job. We had a remote in G'ville, an hour north of my house, the town where the station is. I had been specifically requested, which was lovely, and had several listeners come to meet me because they wanted to see what I looked like. One old man that sort of looked like a sea captain (very sunburned, scraggly beard and hair, and an earring) came to meet me so he could tell me how "sexy" my voice is. Yes, that gets a little creepy. The remote was at a candy store. It was a very cute place and there was a huge crowd. I don't know if I've ever had a remote with so many people come to it. The main reason was she offered a year's worth of candy for the first 50 people in the door. The girl that came in first had been there since 5 a.m.! A "year's worth" is so indefinite... Turns out she gave out punch cards and you can come in each week for the candy of the week. Like one Slo-Poke or whatever. I hope the business succeeds, but I don't know that it can. She was a real hustler that will make things happen, I can tell, but still.... it's a very very small town.

After the remote I ate lunch at a Mexican food place with my boss. It was so good. I just don't go out to eat and it has been months since I ate Mexican. Yum. Of course, I've been trying to really count my fat grams since I saw the doctor and that all went out the window.

Then I went to a little grocery store that I do commercials for. I hadn't been there before. It was SO CUTE. It was really like going into the grocery store with my grandparents in Eastland, Texas. I think even the groceries in my little town were more modern when I was a kid than this one. It really would have taken me back if it had the scales by the produce that hang up, you know? Linoleum floors and short wide aisles. The checker actually took the food from your basket himself (I've always hated having to put my groceries on the conveyor belt) and then pulls the basket through to the other side from HIS side of the checkstand. That was new to me, I think. The basket is built so that it fits above the checkstand with the connections to the wheels all on the left side so it kind of fits around the checkstand. Apparently the staff calls people by name and knows their customers. I'd go there if I lived nearby.

I got home and was missing a cat, though I didn't really realize it just yet. I thought he was just cooled up somewhere cool. Send out some brain waves with instructions for Phil to GO HOME. If this goes until tomorrow (OH God I hope it doesn't) I have a pet psychic I can call. She helps with lost animals for free. I used her maybe 20 years ago when Nathan Jr. was gone for several days. She had me picture him surrounded by white light and my heart surrounded by white light and we are connected with white light. Then I need to start pulling that strand of white light to me and telling Nathan that he needs to come home now. It apparently worked! I was meditating on it in a warm bath when my neighbor called exclaiming, "I have Nathan Jr. in my house now!" He'd been gone for five days, the first an incredibly cold winter day.

I'm trying to get some things done while I am waiting. Next up is painting my mailbox.

Before || After
Older Entries
Family Lunch Today - Saturday, Aug. 26, 2023
Reunion Catch-Up - Sunday, Aug. 20, 2023
Reunion Procrastination - Friday, Aug. 11, 2023
Barbie Movie - Saturday, Aug. 05, 2023
Phil is HOME - Sunday, Jul. 30, 2023
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland