Friday, Aug. 11, 2023 10:06 am

Reunion Procrastination

I am on vacation today! And Monday and Tuesday coming up, too. This is my big reunion weekend. Right this minute is when I should be packing and loading the car and getting on the road. But, no, I'm procrastinating and eating every cookie I bought to take to the reunion and messing around. There are STILL genealogy tasks I must finish and take with me. I haven't even pulled out the notebooks that should go with me. And I need to cut my Monday radio show so I won't worry about it.

My plan is to get over there sometime this afternoon. If it is early enough I might go to the courthouse and around the downtown square. There are new businesses there and I'd like to see what. I usually do very little "in town" when I'm there. I have a hotel room this time instead of the AirBnB I've stayed at the last two years. It is lovely and private and quiet, but it is a bit further from the reunion and it is expensive. So I booked the hotel and it will be nice to be in town and closer to the reunion grounds.

I haven't called anyone there to see if I can invite myself to dinner. I think about it, but then I just don't want the commitment. If I end up with a Sonic hamburger in my room I will be perfectly happy.

Tomorrow I will try to get by the library. I haven't been there since my cousin the librarian died. I will find out who runs the show now and what changes they have made. I may ask to look at some of their funeral home records she kept behind the counter. She was pretty secretive of some of her stash, maybe they are a bit more open to browsing!

Maybe I will eat lunch in town tomorrow. We'll see. The museum has a big thing in the afternoon for the kids so I will wander around there and see what cousins I run into.

Later in the day I'll go to the reunion grounds and swelter a while. There will be hotdogs for dinner, but again I might bypass that and grab a chocolate malt at the Dairy Queen on the way back to the hotel instead.

Sunday is the best breakfast in the world at an ungodly early hour. Then some open time.... One of my (least liked) cousins has a church service there during some of that time. I do not participate. I will probably go down to the cemetery then and guide some tours (even if no one asks).

Back to the reunion grounds for the business meeting, where I will speak a bit. I hope to turn over some of my reporting to a younger girl... I'm trying to pass along this job to her (though I'll never trust anyone else to do it as well as I have done). And I never will STOP doing what I do, but I expect there will come a day I will stop going to the reunion. Or at least stop going for the whole thing. We'll see what happens. I'll never get to be the oldest there if I don't keep going, but then, I may not live to live be the oldest if I keep going. Good freaking Lord it is going to be hot there.

I went to see this alternative chiropractor yesterday (if chiropractic wasn't alternative enough already). I will have to write about that whole experience later. I don't THINK I will be investing my money in this, but it is intriguing and I would love to SEE If it would work on this throat tension that is constant. The morning before I went I had a horrible nightmare that I was there and there were lots of people and it was noisy and the nurses were mean and one said, "I don't even like you." I woke up from that dreading the whole trip. Of course it wasn't like that and he is a very kind person. It's just a money thing.

Oh how I would love to just stay in this quiet house all day long.... It is so peaceful. I hate to leave the kitties behind for my sister to care for. I am ALWAYS exhilarated and LOVE being in our old home county, but it is so hard for me to get going. I feel such a sense of hope and heightened excitement from being there, yet I also have deep sadness and a sense of loss for my ancestors and for never having lived there myself. I don't quite know what I am mourning, but it is something. That feeling may be stronger this weekend. My usual habit on Saturday night after returning to my hotel room was to call Mom and tell her all about it. She loved the reunion, but couldn't take the trip or the heat anymore. She loved hearing all about it and my excitement for it. This year I'm all on my own.

Before || After
Older Entries
Feeling Chill - Saturday, Sept. 09, 2023
Sweat and Paper - Saturday, Sept. 02, 2023
Guilt - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2023
Family Lunch Today - Saturday, Aug. 26, 2023
Reunion Catch-Up - Sunday, Aug. 20, 2023
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland