Tuesday, Dec. 28, 2021 10:29 am

Post-Christmas 2021

I'm starting my first day of "vacation" with coffee cake (in the oven now) and coffee. A LONG list of things to do and, of course, I feel a bit overwhelmed and would rather do genealogy.

It has been a lovely Christmas weekend, though. Very quiet. Friday night I went to see Nephew #2 play guitar for his church group in a candlelight ceremony. Yes, too churchy for me, but he was good and I was glad I was there for him and slightly relieved to not have to be with others for Christmas Eve. Christmas Day was with sister and nephew and spouses just grazing and playing some games. Easy day. Oh, also saw Mom on Christmas Eve and took her presents.

Sunday I drove to Tyler and saw the folks there. She is getting worse. More "chattering," talking to the inanimate objects like "I'll put you there" and "well how did you end up over here." And lots of "cha cha" and other nonsensical chatter. But she's happy and singing a lot. Can't keep up a conversation, but still very happy. Some repetition (honestly, not as much as Mom). Poor Pop loves her so dearly, but he is dealing with a lot and needs other people. He said he didn't mean to guilt-trip me, but my visits meant so much to them. I will try to go more.

So I drove home yesterday and had several phone calls in a row. It wore me out. Trevor says he called several rehab places yesterday, but he complained how his phone wasn't working well and they kept getting cut off (as if that was a reason to not do this) and complained about the money they make and how expensive it is and he doesn't want to go out of town and he doesn't need to and he doesn't want to hear stores like in AA, etc etc. He also complained about his nieces ignoring him and accusing him of being pervy and not asking him about his life (she's only 21). I hope he gets some help and gets a brighter viewpoint.

So . . . let's see where this day goes. I did put a card on the box for my ghosty friend DFH. Her birthday is tomorrow and I don't want to ignore it even if she is ignoring me!

Before || After
Older Entries
Cowboy Sunday - Sunday, Jan. 16, 2022
Sunday blah? - Sunday, Jan. 09, 2022
Plumbers Today? - Friday, Jan. 07, 2022
New Start - Sunday, Jan. 02, 2022
Vacation - Thursday, Dec. 30, 2021
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland