Tuesday, Feb. 14, 2023 9:07 am

Valentine's Day 2023

I'm here on a weekday! I need to get to my other desk and work, but I felt like starting here today.

It is Valentine's... crickets. I was thinking of "When I'm 64..." with the lyric "will you be sending me a Valentine..." I guess that doesn't apply until NEXT Valentine's Day when I'll actually be 64. I don't expect there'll be anyone coming around with a bottle of wine anytime soon when I first turn 64 either. 4 weeks from tomorrow.

It is rainy and drippy this morning. More bogginess in my backyard. It really needs some heat and sunshine to dry out, but that may not happen until the sun is high in the sky in June.

I finished reading American Pastoral by Phillip Roth last night. Gripping, interesting book. LOTS of words and I think some of them could have been eliminated, but it got the Pulitzer Prize so I won't try to edit it. I want to watch the movie soon so I can solidify it more in my head. It's not a book I would recommend to many people. It's deep. Literate.

I watched a silly rom-com on Netflix last night with Ashton Kutcher and Reese Witherspoon. She was such an obnoxious character I didn't want him to fall for her. But I'm sure part of the message is that they will compliment each other... she will anchor him and he will free her from her tightly controlled world. Having lived through that world for 25 years I frown at it in a movie... I can see them down the road when he won't stop playing enough to take care of things and he'll resent her because she won't stop and play when he has the urge.

Before || After
Older Entries
Restless - Saturday, Mar. 18, 2023
Baby Shower Report - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2023
In the Gauntlet - Saturday, Mar. 04, 2023
Quiet morning - Thursday, Mar. 02, 2023
March Blows In - Wednesday, Mar. 01, 2023
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland