Sunday, Oct. 15, 2023 12:19 pm

Pep Talk to Me

Typical weekend day -- me at home with lots of time on my hands and a deep desire to have a clean and inviting home, yet I eat cookies and surf the web and look up obscure details about my family and think about crawling off for a nap.

I hope I get past this lack-of-mojo and get some things done today. Really really I do. I could at least start with some of the sympathy cards I need to get into the mail. Or put away groceries. Or eat another cookie so I don't have to worry about them tempting me all afternoon.

First though.... The Taylor Swift movie was excellent. We had a lovely time watching it. We didn't have a full theater so there weren't people singing and dancing along or even applauding. We didn't know a lot of the songs (most, probably), but visually it was still spectacular. It makes me want to go back to her albums and listen with the lyrics. Mostly I was amazed at her stamina and no sweating. How does anyone SING for three hours, much less dance and run and look beautiful and NOT SWEAT. She is superhuman.

Yesterday I did a remote where I do my radio. It was just a little local festival and it was fun. Lots of people out and the weather was ideal and we got to see the eclipse, too. I enjoyed all the visiting with my friend/boss. I came home and slept for a while, watched Dateline, and then went back to bed.

Today I took my sister and a friend to the airport on their way to Boston and New Hampshire. It sure made me glad I didn't have to travel anywhere today. Or go anywhere. I had considered going to an event in a cool old cemetery in Fort Worth, but after being out all day yesterday, it sounded like less fun.

It is a beautiful cool fall day. Not even in the 70s today for the first time. And 40s overnight, so that means the plants I put outside last week all need to come back in.

I'm going to go strip the bed and get the sheets started in the washer, put away the rest of the groceries, clear away these vases and cups left over from Mom's place that we just sorted through this week, and move my coffee pot back to the other side of the kitchen where it used to be. I like the new location, but it is getting junky on this side of the kitchen.

Side note -- I bought this house in a big rush two years ago, but I'm happy with what I got. This week I saw and adorable house in the section of town I really wanted to live in. It is only two bedroom and one bath, but it is also a lot less expensive and has all the things I wanted: all updated, but with real original wood floors and a screened in porch and nice updates in the bath and kitchen and a great backyard with trees and a fire pit. Stuff I want, but it will be a while before I can afford them here. I'm sure it is already sold and, no, I don't want to get involved in a move again for a long while, but it made me want to get my place to the level of cuteness I CAN get it to with what I have already. No reason my back porch can't be adorable even without the roof and screens. And I could put a big steel pipeline cap I have into the backyard as a fire pit right now. Shit -- cleaning the kitchen will go a long way to making the house cute like I want it.

And so I begin...

Before || After
Older Entries
Jack Again and Christmas prep - Sunday, Dec. 03, 2023
Thanksgiving 2023 - Saturday, Nov. 25, 2023
Days until Thanksgiving - Sunday, Nov. 19, 2023
Almost Thanksgiving - Saturday, Nov. 11, 2023
Peanut Festival + Car Collapse - Sunday, Oct. 22, 2023
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland