Sunday, Oct. 22, 2023 2:15 pm

Peanut Festival + Car Collapse

Rereading last Sunday's entry, I'm glad I actually did do most of those things that needed to be done. I didn't write the sympathy cards. I'm kind of thinking I don't need to. I don't think any of them sent me cards in April so it won't be expected and ... why should I? For quite a few years now I TRY to examine my motives for things I do. Am I sending a card to show that I am a caring individual and focusing on ME or am I sincerely caring for them and what they are going through?

Today I'm pretty much in the same position I was last weekend on Sunday after having had a remote at a festival. Very tired. I walked a lot more steps yesterday. The festival was a lot bigger than last week. Better weather for it, too. Last week was great, but a tiny bit cool and windy. Yesterday had sun, but clouds so not too hot, and no wind to think about.

I had plans to drive back home on the smaller roads. I went UP on them, but I needed to get there so I didn't have any time to wander or stop. I really wanted to drive by where my parents lived for 13 years and see how big the catalpa tree is. But, yes, plans aren't guarantees. My boss and I stopped three miles out of town at the business of a customer in the next little town that wanted to meet me. Found him there with them and we spent about an hour talking and telling stories. A very nice couple (maybe more on them later). They had friends to meet up with and needed to go so we left. Steve got in his car and was pulling back when I tried starting mine and NOTHING! Shit!!!! I jumped out and stopped him.

We put my battery cables on and still barely anything. The couple came out of the business and he was very smart and checked the cables and pulled out a charger he had. Then they went to get another neighbor that had a bigger truck to try to charge it with and it just wasn't getting there. I was trying to get them ALL to leave and I could take care of it (I know how to handle things sometimes). But they knew which wrecker to call and we got them on their way. The couple left for their fun. Steve and I went around the corner to the truck man's restaurant and had a root beer float at the owner's recommendation. I think I would have liked Coke better, or a malt, so I'll have to go back. It was delicious.

Wrecker guy got there so I sent Steve on home, who was nice enough to stay with me and buy my float and a tiny moon pie. The wrecker guy was a nice "kid" (36) with a little 7-year-old boy. I rode with them all the way back to "town." An hour. He was easy to talk to. We got my car to a mechanic shop I used to take my car to all the time, but that was 25 years ago! But they are still in business so we dropped it in their parking lot. Then we discovered the little boy had locked us out of the truck, with it running!! Fortunately, one of their services is unlocking cars so he had slim jims and extenders and all sorts of things to reach into the cab to unlock it. It still wasn't easy or fast. I already had mastered "I'm not in control" through the afternoon and was fine with the wait. He finally got me dropped off at my house about 6 p.m. So I'm home hours after I expected to be and didn't get to see the places I wanted to see and didn't get the nap I wanted either.

I had messaged a couple of times with my friend Vince so he knew sort of what was going on. I called him as soon as I came in to it didn't have to become a long back-and-forth message. We had a good visit for a while and then I got a nice shower and pajamas and watched Dateline (back to where I was last Saturday night again!).

So today my plan was just to do what I did last Sunday, but my sister is going to come get me in a little while and take me to her house to visit for a bit while her husband is playing soccer. She'll tell me about her trip to New Hampshire.

I'm already having that dread of work tomorrow and "missing" my weekend and "why can't I ever catch up and rest up" etc. Pushing that aside and enjoying the moment and where the day takes me.

I've watched a lot of baseball this week with the playoffs. I only seem to really enjoy it when it is important and a team I'm for. With both Texas teams in the playoff I have a bit of a stake in it. But I'm for the Rangers and they are behind 3 games to 2 now. It might all be over tonight and I would be fine with that. I do really enjoy watching sports when something really interesting happens. I feel like an insider to have SEEN the batter hit by the pitch and the ensuing fight. Or a fabulous catch at the wall. I have NO ONE to talk about it with anymore, but I participate sometimes in an exchange on Facebook about it.

A good friend had considered coming down to visit me this weekend. I'm so glad she decided against it. I don't even have a toilet seat for her right now! The guest room one broke at the hinge. I've ordered two new ones (one for the other bathroom too because I hate the plastic seats I've abhorred for two years now) and even a bidet attachment, but it all (sort of) arrived this week and they were all wrong. Only a lid, no bidet, and the other was not soft-closing. These were "refurbs" that were a bit cheaper (my justification for getting the bidet), but I'm sending them back ASAP and just going to the hardware store to get them in person.

I have also been SICK most of this week. Wednesday I had to go get blood drawn for a doctor appointment next week. I made an appointment to get my vaccines that same morning so next week the doctor would know that I've taken care of that and I could get two errands run while I was out. I got shots for flu, COVID, and RSV.

And OMG they made me sicker than I've ever been from vaccines. My arms were sore and I just just ill. Truly not SUPER sick, but that first night I was up every hour or two for water and more ibuprofen and just couldn't get myself to sleep or out of pain. When I started work the next morning I thought I was through it, but that afternoon I ended up napping the day away. Still sick pretty much through Friday afternoon, but it was getting better the whole time.

I'm fine from THAT, but when I got out at the peanut festival yesterday my eyes suddenly were overflowing and itching. I had to go into a store and ask for a Kleenex because it just looked like I was sobbing and I probably had mascara running. It finally seemed to fix itself, but this morning at 4 a.m. I woke up stuffed up and itching and sneezing and nose running. I keep Kleenex by the bed in a drawer, but often wonder why (when I look through that drawer) because I never seem to use them. I was glad they were there this morning. I took a Benadryl and it helped fast and I slept hard after that. I think this is ragweed making an early entrance this season.

Oh, I did get a new computer from work this week, too. I need to get the old one packaged up and sent back.

And I had a butt dial call from Mark this week that was a surprise (to us both!). When I saw he was calling, my first thought, of course, was that someone must have died. So it was a relief it wasn't. I could only hear papers shuffling and stuff, but I got his attention and we visited a minute. Nothing much going on for either of us to talk about.

Oh, that couple I met yesterday. Maybe a bit younger than me. They seemed a lot younger, but they have grown children and grandchildren, so that should but them about my age range. They were funny, interesting people to begin with and then I learn that the husband works with BIG concerts out of Nashville and does concert staging (I think) and knows lots of big names and has connections. So, of course, we all started sharing stories (mostly Steve, he sometimes dominates a conversation). I had seen a Trump sticker somewhere there and wondered about that. And they had a lot of knives and gun things for sale (in their gift shop) so I was getting the feeling they might be conservative -- as conservative as everyone in that part of the state is. But he worked with music! But, yeah, it was Nashville music. Hmmmmm. I got home and found a Facebook page that I think they have abandoned because they've changed the name of the store. The first videos on that page were their engraving process they do for wooden gifts, ornaments, signs, etc. They were engraving a Christmas ornament that said "Let's Go Brandon" [if I've forgotten in the future, that is code for "Fuck You Biden"] and some with FJB initials which obviously means the same thing. There was a time, I think, when someone's politics didn't make me begin or not begin a friendship, but there sure is now. Not that I would expect I'd be close buddies with them since they are a couple and they live 60 miles away, but it was nice to know there were interesting people around.

Another potential new friend that is an old friend.... Don from Austin who I've known now for 24 years has moved to my town. Not the big DFW, but my specific little town to live with his 100-year-old mother. I texted him yesterday to say hello and find out WHERE they are (it has got to be close, I just wonder how close). He finally responded today with "Small world." No other interaction. I'll just let it go. He and Steve and I may all have lunch together one of these days. He is older than me and never married and has all sorts of mental problems, but he's funny and I would love to have another friend to just get a hamburger with.

Also, I sent a long email to my old friends from the 80s that I haven't seen since the 90s. I had kind of felt a chill from her the last time we got together in the 90s and thought our friendship was over. Facebook came along and we reconnected, but just with comments, no messages. So I wrote her and asked if we were "okay" and friends still and where they live, etc. I was beginning to worry with no response that she was chilling on me to make a point, but she messaged yesterday (it seems she just now found the message) and was effusive and really looked forward to getting back together and gave me her address, phone, and email! She was good at writing notes to each other at the office, maybe she'll be a good email buddy! She probably has a very busy life. She always did.

My sister was going to take a short nap and then come get me. I hope she is coming soon! She said she has some food at her house.

Before || After
Older Entries
PORCH by next week? - Saturday, Dec. 09, 2023
Jack Again and Christmas prep - Sunday, Dec. 03, 2023
Thanksgiving 2023 - Saturday, Nov. 25, 2023
Days until Thanksgiving - Sunday, Nov. 19, 2023
Almost Thanksgiving - Saturday, Nov. 11, 2023
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland