Saturday, Feb. 10, 2024 1:53 pm

Feeling gross

I did go to Tyler last weekend to see the folks (and didn't use my ticket for the Bob Wills band concert I had planned to be at). It was nice to see them. Visited at my brother-in-law's house a while, too, and saw his sweet pets.

I've had a rough week. It started before Tyler when I couldn't get my doctor's office to respond to my messages. I had had bloodwork and hadn't received the results and I hadn't ordered my prescriptions because she wanted to see the bloodwork before changing one of them perhaps. Long story, but I couldn't get through to them, then they said I had refills available so there should be no problem, but the pharmacy didn't have those refills and I was on the phone with them a long time, too. On and on and on..... bottom line. I've been without some of my meds for more than a week. My brother-in-laws loaned me some of two of them so I'd have some of them. Thank goodness I have the one for anxiety. I should get one prescription today (but I had a loan on it so it isn't that critical) and I finally got a refill on the others, but they won't be here for days, even though I express ordered them as fast as I could. I am a terrible advocate for my own health. I'd like to just say, well, crap, I'll just quit taking them if you aren't going to be helpful, but that might kill me.

I had been feeling shaky and with a racing heart early in the week. My blood pressure has still been high even with the meds and it shot up. My pulse has been too slow for a long time, like 55, and this week it is 88 and over 100. Meds do make a difference, apparently. But then Wednesday night, I don't know if this is related to something I ate (I'm suspicious of red peppers these days) or a bug or the meds, but I was sick all night long. Miserable. I managed to work through the day, but I took a long nap at lunch. Yesterday I felt better and was able to eat, but still weak. I had high hopes that all would be back to normal today, but I couldn't sleep last night. Did I have some late day caffeine? I was awake or reading until about 3 a.m. Finally took a half o a pill and it must have let me sleep because I finally looked at the clock and it was noon. Yikes. Didn't want to sleep my day away.

But since getting up 2 hours ago I have done nothing. I feel so weak and shaky. I ate cereal and a banana and then drank a good smoothie to get some sugar circulating in my system. I have things I really want to do.

Next weekend my sister's in-laws from Holland are coming. I want to have them over here since they haven't seen this house. I have got to make it presentable. I pulled all those books out to the floor on my vacation day and many of them are still there. I plan on putting boxes in the car today and get them to the donation place soon. I did sell a few things to a record store nearby, but $10 for a few things wasn't worth my time, I don't think. That was an experiment to see what they pay and these were good vinyl albums and books about music. But $10 won't change my life. Might as well donate them and maybe it can change someone else's life.

I did fire my porch guy, sort of. I had given him extra time and he hadn't called me back like he promised. I had texted him twice to call me. Finally I sat down and was composing a firing letter. I was going to put it into the mail, registered, so that I had legal proof that I'd fired him and he owed me money. But he called while I was typing and he said he was in over his head and had to quit. I had paid him money up front and he had done the concrete demolishing as promised so he had earned some of it. I asked him what he thought he was owed. He named a price and I said, "Let's round that up ..." and was generous. He's given back some of it and said he would need a couple of weeks to get me the rest. I hope he follows through. Meanwhile, I had a real contractor come, but I haven't received his estimate yet. It will be hire because they will know what they are doing, dealing with the city, etc., but I'll get it done. I had this money from Mom fall into my lap and I can hear her telling me "You go get that and I'll pay for it." She said that about everything, even when she had no money and had no idea she had no money.

I also had another little windfall (in the future). I'm doing a little project for an old boss to help her out. That's another thing on my plate to worry about, but some "jobs" don't cause me anxiety or fear-of-failure and this is one.

Speaking of work . . . It is nice to be in a position of confidence in my job. I've been there almost 15 years and I am doing work that could be done by an intern 99% of the time. I'm flying under the radar for the next two years until retirement. A few weeks ago my team was handed a big project. Where we usually might do 30 "widgets" a week, suddenly we each had 600 widgets that needed to be done in less than a month. I figured I needed to do 30 a day, on average, to hit that goal. We still were getting another 30 widgets or so a week on top, so there was work to be done. I started keeping a little chart of how many were in my box to do each day that, generally, showed how many I had done the day before. I also noted my team members' amounts. Yesterday I had about 220 left to do. The others all still have over 400 to do. I may not have been like this in doing projects in high school, but somewhere I learned along the way that you never know what else may come along, so do it early and get it over with. Sure enough, another big effort came along yesterday. Oddly, they assigned it yesterday (Friday) afternoon and said it needed to be done by Feb. 12. Monday? We pointed out that this was unlikely to be done by then. She's going to try to get us an extension. As far as I can see, they have no choice but to give us an extension. I worked on it through the rest of the day and maybe got 20% of it done, and that was the easiest part. Anyway, again, I don't fret because I'll do it on my pace and my pace is usually better than the others.

Man, I still feel so lousy. I think I'll go drink a bloody Mary. ha. yuck. No. Maybe one of those electrolyte drinks that helps when you're dehydrated. I don't think I am dehydrated, but I'm something off.

And Superbowl tomorrow! I'm looking forward to it. I asked my sister if I could come watch there. I think she thought I was expecting a party, but I wasn't at all. Just thought it might be fun to watch some of it with others. May not work out and the way I'm feeling that's probably fine. I might go to bed at 8 o'clock and not even know who won. I'm rooting for Taylor Swift, btw.

Before || After
Older Entries
Birthday Celebrations - Sunday, Mar. 17, 2024
Spring Break begins - Saturday, Mar. 09, 2024
It's March! - Sunday, Mar. 03, 2024
Dutch visitors - Saturday, Feb. 24, 2024
Calm Saturday - Saturday, Feb. 17, 2024
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland