Saturday, Feb. 24, 2024 10:32 am

Dutch visitors

I wrote last week that the crunch at work was over. I was wrong. This was still a very very busy week and I even have the urge to go in there and finish off a few more things so I can rest easier and not wait to do them Monday.

It is a beautiful spring day. Rooster crowing constantly down the street... that makes me laugh and makes me glad I don't live next door to him. I've been watering the backyard because the fertilizer people came yesterday and spread fertilizer and it is supposed to be watered in. I had hoped we might have a little rain to do it, but it doesn't look like it will be anytime soon. I did see cannas pushing up while I was out there. There is a lot of yardwork that needs to be done to clear up the dead winter stuff before the spring stuff starts. I still feel like we'll have another light freeze before spring.

I have spent some time with the Dutch relatives this week, but not too much. I had them here to my house for wine and cheese Wednesday night and I went to my sister's house for the whole family Thursday night (minus the two littlest girls and my nephew's wife--girls were sick). They leave this afternoon. I think they may be seeing the girls play soccer right now. I was going to go, too, but no one has told me where or when so I guess I'm not. I did not go to my sister's gig last Saturday night. I was geared up to go, but the flights of the Dutch were delayed and they didn't arrive until 10 p.m. so I was blissfully home. I know my sister is going to sleep the day away tomorrow. I don't know that I've ever had company for a full week except my mother when she would come to Austin, but that was easy company. My sister has taken the family on tours and out to eat and shopping, plus to the kids' houses several times. It has been a very full week for them all.

The best part about company is that the house is really clean! I don't have to worry about it this weekend (much). I've been using my robot vacuum a lot this week. In fact, right now it is stuck somewhere in the house and needs to be found. It beeps when it gets stuck, but sometimes I don't hear it or can't FIND it before it stops beeping. It is amazing how I can run it until the battery runs out every day and it still comes home stuffed with cat hair. That's why I NEED to remember to use it. It would be great if it truly was autonomous and could just go out on a schedule every day. It is able to do that, but, like I said, it gets stuck and doesn't make it back to the charger and even if it did, it has to be emptied every time. Cat hair cat hair cat hair.

I am procrastinating. I need to work on this side gig project. This is my last weekend to finish it up. It's fun work. I like it, but I'm enjoying this quiet clean house and "talking" to myself here (and to you, of course).

Before || After
Older Entries
April is Here - Monday, Apr. 01, 2024
Potty Talk - Saturday, Mar. 23, 2024
Birthday Celebrations - Sunday, Mar. 17, 2024
Spring Break begins - Saturday, Mar. 09, 2024
It's March! - Sunday, Mar. 03, 2024
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland