Saturday, Dec. 23, 2023 10:36 am

Pre-Holiday

I have made it to the true HOLIDAYS and I don't have to go back to "real" work until Wednesday. I'll do radio again on Tuesday and all week. My boss there offered me the week off, but I didn't feel like I needed it since I'm doing my other job. We had a radio staff Christmas lunch yesterday at a nice steakhouse and I got a Christmas bonus equal to a full month's salary! That's about twice the size of any other radio bonus I've had. Very very generous.

I had my porch building guy come by today and see if he can do a repair on my bathroom shower. He brought his wife again. I have a weird dislike of husbands and wives that work together. Maybe because I never GOT to. It just kind of rubs me wrong. Silly, I know. I'm looking forward to the porch being BUILT. We talked about it some more this morning. We are waiting on the building permit. It might be halfway through January before it is approved, but that's not too far off. It will happen when it happens.

I wrote some Christmas cards Thursday night, meaning to mail them yesterday when I was out, but I got to running late and forgot them. I'll put them a box today maybe. Doesn't really matter at this point, they will be late. But I would like to get that off my list (that I haven't made yet).

I do need to go to the grocery again today. I expect it will be crowded. I am going to make a vegetable bean chili and a pan of cornbread for tomorrow's Cowboy watching/Christmas Eve. I need to buy those ingredients. And more eggnog. I always need more eggnog.

I TRULY will stop drinking the eggnog and lower the sugar and fat intake soon and drop these 3 or 4 pounds that have arrived for the holidays.

I must get some serious house cleaning done today since company is coming. I am starting in my bath and bedroom even though company won't see that at all. Beyond that I must just straighten up the kitchen and house and vacuum and mop. Vacuuming with go the furthest in making me feel like the house is clean. I may set Jac the (robo)Vac out while I'm working on the bathroom. He can take care of some of the necessary vacuuming. He tends to get stuck on rugs and couches in the living room though.

Today is my youngest niece's third birthday. My nephew called last night as he was out to buy decorations and presents for her. He felt like a bad dad that he'd put it off so long. I think he's a good dad for even doing it. He said that--even at three--she has already expressed dismay that she has to share her birthday with Christmas. Poor child, she'll have that the rest of her natural life. But the 23rd is better than the 25th. I really feel sorry for those Christmas babies. My birthday falls in Spring Break and that was a drag for me a lot of my life (most definitely when it fell during South By Southwest for most of the 20 years in Austin).

Okay, I'm already letting this day get away from me as I sit here and muse and muse. I'm going to change my clothes (because I always get bleach products on my clothes and ruin them) and turn on a podcast and see if I can get the bedroom finished by noon.

Before || After
Older Entries
Saturdays - Saturday, Jan. 20, 2024
Stock Show - Sunday, Jan. 07, 2024
Cold House - Tuesday, Jan. 02, 2024
2024 is here - Monday, Jan. 01, 2024
Post Holiday - No Blues - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2023
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland