Saturday, Dec. 16, 2023 10:49 am

Busy Week

It has certainly been a full week after I wrote last Saturday. My friend did drop by to visit and I had a lovely plate of Christmas snacks for us. She liked my house. She is an interior designer, but kind enough not to say "OMG you have too many _____." Fill that in with books, knickknacks, paintings, photos, postcards, radios, rugs, plants, etc. It is A LOT.

Sunday I was going with my sister to see "The Waitress" with Sara Bareilles -- though I'd totally forgotten and wasn't up or ready or anything -- when my sister called to say she had COVID (again). She had complained about a man coughing next to her on her plane trip from Belgium and, sure enough, she was sick. She got meds and got over it pretty quickly, thank goodness.

All week I was "dreading" our Friday radio station event. Dreading isn't the right word. Fear and excitement are such similar feelings. I was excited, but I also fear it in some ways, and I'm glad it is over. My little radio station has several "Secret Santas" from the community that gave us $70,000 to give away to people in need. This is the sixth year that we've given away large amounts of money. It went well and 70 people got $1000 each. It was exhausting to be live on the radio and out greeting people and checking their IDs, etc. My sister went and helped. She'd never seen the little radio station and was impressed. We got it all done by 1 pm. She and I stopped for lunch and went to a liquor store on the way home. It was pouring cold rain all day long and there were several wrecks on the highway that slowed the trip, but we were talking and didn't really notice the slowdowns. My boss said it took him over twice as long to get home because of the wrecks.

I wore a new shirt that has kitties in Santa hats all over it. I got compliments everywhere I went yesterday. I had a nice conversation at Aldi with a woman whose cat recently died. Sometimes I just want to give my phone number to people I meet in Aldi. I want to be friends with them!

I got home and took an awesome nap.

Today we are going to try to go to the Waitress movie again. Weather is clear and bright and warmer.

Oh, and the handyman work from the week. The toilet seats and bidets are installed! Hooray. It took longer than I expected so they charged me twice as much. And I'm not thrilled with the "fit" (not to my behind, but on the bowl itself.... they are adjustable and he didn't adjust them correctly). He had a heck of a time with my newfangled toilet that makes it a lot harder to tighten up bolts apparently. And as for the porch.... I haven't been screwed yet. The guy and a worker came with a sledge hammer to break up my concrete back patio. They learned quickly that the cement was practically indestructible by sledge. He went and rented a jackhammer to work at it faster. It still was incredibly hard work and took a long time, but he got it all broken up and piled. They came back the next day and picked all the concrete up and hauled it away. But we discovered in there that I do need to get a building permit for the porch. He was willing to go ahead and build and chance it, but I hate being a scofflaw so I said we will do it the right way. He has to draw up some plans and get the permit and then we'll start, so that will be in 2024. Hopefully by the Superbowl I'll have a new porch.

Before || After
Older Entries
Cold House - Tuesday, Jan. 02, 2024
2024 is here - Monday, Jan. 01, 2024
Post Holiday - No Blues - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2023
Pre-Holiday - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2023
Just bored - Tuesday, Dec. 19, 2023
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland