Saturday, Mar. 23, 2024 11:31 am

Potty Talk

I hope this stays a quiet uneventful day. I was thinking this week how people hound someone like me with, "You should get out more!" but do they ever hound bon vivant people and say, "Have you thought about staying IN over the weekend?" Why is one acceptable and the other is not?

If my porch were finished I would be out there reading a book, but I would have to be bundled up a bit. It's a little chilly, though the sun is bright and it will warm up.

My only solid plan for the day is to get outside and take a picture of the old lawn furniture and see if I can give it away and get it taken away soon. I would also like to clean out the shed a bit and get everything else that was ON the porch but into the shed just to get it off of the lawn. I'm going to have to get the lawn guy here to mow soon. It is thick.

Of course with a million different things on my To Do list I sat down here first thing and started looking up genealogy. I re-subscribed to newspapers.com and it is so addictive. It is hard to search some ancestors' names because the old newspapers usually just used initials and the wives were always only "Mrs. so and so." But I stumble across some suprises with broad searches.

I lost a cap on a tooth yesterday. I gave up taffy and really sticky candies years ago because of caps, but I still LOVE gummy bears. I was eating some yesterday and suddenly crunched something and had an odd bitter taste, but I swallowed before I stopped myself. It was kind of creepy. I felt like maybe there had been a cricket or something weird in the gummy bears. There was nothing weird in the sack, so, yes, I gobbled down the rest, too. But then I felt around the mouth and discovered a crown/cap was gone. I have an appointment Tuesday morning to get it fixed (or just pull that pseudo-tooth?). Meanwhile it feels a little weird, but no pain.

You know how Marie Kondo and other feng shui advice is to decide how much joy something gives you? This new outdoor furniture gives me SO MUCH JOY! I have just been delighted all week when I walk in the room and see it. My sister came over Wednesday and saw it for the first time and totally agreed. It is so well made and so beautiful and so NEW. I have it arranged in a large open area of the house so it is usable right now and it is just pure WONDERFUL. So now I'm judging everything else I own with, "Does this delight me as much as the outdoor furniture does?" It makes things a lot more clear cut (not that I can get rid of EVERYTHING that doesn't give me that joy, but I'm moving out a lot, I hope).

Porch progress is slow, but my contractor is keeping me updated at least once a week and I'm so glad about that. He's working with an engineer to get the plans created to submit to the city. Maybe that will happen before March ends?

----

Interrupted by a phone call from my sister. I TENSE UP when she calls, afraid she'll see if I want to do something or she'll talk for an hour. Nothing like that, she was just driving and called to say hi. I am so relieved now my day has not been hijacked!

It is my oldest grand-niece's NINTH birthday. They don't have family birthday parties like normal people so I won't be seeing her. I have a Harry Potter Encyclopedia for her. I remember 9 and I can't believe she is already that grown up.

Meanwhile, her 3-year-old sister pooped in the potty for the first time and I guess that is a big milestone, too. I try not to get involved in that part of their lives. Not that they would let me. I don't think even my sister has ever changed one of the babies' diapers.

Okay - on that lovely subject...

Before || After
Older Entries
Phil - Saturday, Apr. 27, 2024
Phil is Sick - Saturday, Apr. 20, 2024
Eclipse 2024 - Wednesday, Apr. 17, 2024
Fulks/Scott Concert - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2024
April is Here - Monday, Apr. 01, 2024
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland