Saturday, Sept. 08, 2007 12:07 pm

Got to see Terry for the First Time

I've already crossed one "to do" off of my list and that was to sleep late. And, boy, I was having weird dreams. We were living in a different house, it was new to us, and we were having a house concert with Mark's band playing in the garage. Lots more to it, of course, but nothing particularly meaningful, I don't think.

Last night I went to Threadgill's from a couple I work with and a guy from the sports station to see Terry Allen. We had a great time. It was really a different and good show. Saw people I knew, too, like John T, the writer and Eddie, the owner, and James McMurtry was there. Interesting bunch and very good entertainment. I liked him. Maybe not as much as Guy Clark, but maybe one day I'll know his stuff that well. We met up at dinner across the street and then went to the show and it was fun. I didn't know the girl as well as the guys and I had a chance to visit with her.

I found a cool thing online yesterday. I've been googling family member names and doing some genealogy and coming up with some very neat, new things. Yesterday I did my Dad's name. Previously I had come up with obit from it and that was about it. This time I found a blog by the music director of their church saying that they had had Daddy's service and what a "saint" Daddy had been in their church. I sent it to Mom and she was surprised the guy even knew Daddy because he was pretty new. It was a nice thing to stumble across.

Okay, today is a day of housecleaning and garden work, to a degree. My neck still hurts so I'm not going to kill myself, but there have got to be some changes in this house. Mark did mow the lawn so I don't have to do anything except the garden and that helps.

Speaking of Mark's sweetness, I do like to record it for posterity. Yesterday I cut the tip of my finger off while slicing onions. I yelped and he said, What happened? I said, I cut my finger. No answer or response. So I'm running water over my finger and wrapping it in a paper towel and wondering why he doesn't care, when he walks up with alcohol and bandages and doctors my finger. Very sweet. And no criticism for cutting myself either.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland