September 08, 2002 10:11 pm

Okay, here's a token

Okay, okay, I'm not living up to my personal pledge of daily updates. Sue me. I'm not living up to my potential in many other areas either, believe me.

I'm watching the Cowboys/Texans game tonight and trying to remember how to be in the habit of watching football again. It has turned into an interesting game. It's a whole different perspective to be in Austin where we don't "have" to be loyal to one team or the other. I know the rest of my family is rabidly for the Cowboys tonight.

Today was the Austin Journal Writers monthly get-together. Quite enjoyable. I really enjoyed the company and the laughs today. I left because I was sleepy and my head hurt, but it had nothing to do with the group. Nice combination of men and women and I'm looking forward to reading the journal of the "new girl." She seems intelligent!

I can complain and complain about how tired and overworked I am, but when I look back over the week and see how much of the exhuastion was caused by drinking and late nights at bars, I feel guilty. I saw Harris and Ryden at Threadgill's, Guy Forsyth at Steamboat, Jon Dee Graham at the Continental, Guy Forsyth at Antone's, Los Lonely Boys at Antone's, Junior Brown and Rodney Hayden at Antone's, and many nameless bands and performers on South Congress on First Thursday. And I went to a party last night to welcome my friend Beth to town. And I was on the air 60 hours (some through radio magic, granted) and worked 10 hours for the doctor.

What I didn't do: Eat right, wash dishes, do laundry, garden, write, call my grandmother, lose weight, sleep.

This week? I feel like it will slow down after Monday, when I'm on the air again (extra). I am going to try to only have to work at the radio station every other day. I do get PAID to go to a bar Thursday so that helps excuse that night.

I'm feeling quite burned out and sinking. I feel like the days slip away with nothing being accomplished beyond making a few bucks and having some fun (shouldn't there be more to life?).

I currently have a HUGE abundance of friendship. My dearest Austin friend that has been living in California all summer has returned to town. My dearest friend ever has moved to Austin to go to UT. Add these two to my other two dear close friends. I am very lucky. Mark, on the other hand, is making me feel guilty about my abundance because he is feeling without friendships. I know most of what has transpired is strictly luck in having these friends that are so good for me. But, on the other hand, you have to reach out and continue a friendship once it begins. Mark laid some guilt on me last night about the "friendship" he had with the woman last year that I but the kibosh on. Now, though, he does admit that she has "gone weird" and she ruined the friendship they had by getting too personal. I think Mark is an oddity among men. Most men don't have friendships where you talk about things and spend some time on the phone with one another (at least that is my perspective of men). I don't know that he will be able to find the friendship that he wants. Oh, well. I'm thinking of having a surprise party for him for his birthday and invite all his Austin friends so he will see how many he does have. He doesn't realize how lucky he is because everyone does seem to like him. Especially me!

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland