Tuesday, Sept. 06, 2005 12:20 pm

vacation??

Doesn't feel like a Tuesday. Partly because of the holiday, partly because I'm on "vacation." I say "vacation" because tomorrow I may NOT be on vacation. I realize this hurricane has ruined lives, but it also has ruined my vacation. Let's remember, it is all about ME on these pages, okay? My voice is doing surprisingly well, so if I am called into service to work this week for hurricane relief, of course I will be happy to do that.

But for today, I am enjoying just today and today I am free. We were going to go tubing, having never been tubing, but Mark cut his thumb really badly and doesn't want it to get icky, so we're going to go bowling and eat enchildas at the Dart Bowl. It's an Austin institution and we've never done it before. In fact, my lovely husband and I have never bowled together before. He may discover what a killer bowler I am (was?). I used to even be in a league, back in the day. I was mainly in the league because some friend I don't even remember now wanted me to be in it and because I LOVED a sport where you could eat a greasy cheeseburger and drink beer while you were competing! That is living!

Last night I went to the lounge to see Mark's band play. The crowd was certainly smaller than in the previous weeks. We don't know whether to write it off to being a holiday and September (when people get more serious about school and work) or if the smoking ban has had an effect. It certainly was different in there without the smoke. Sort of like a make-out party with the lights on bright. But I came home feeling better and not stinking. I may have to continue to go to support the band while others don't. I hope it picks up again as students discover its rebellious charm. I thought about passing out fliers on campus that say "The bar your parents don't want you to be in!" Hell, it is the side of town your parents don't want you to be in (even mine!).

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland