2000-09-06 2:09 am

Getting packed

I should be in there deciding what to take to Spokane and getting packed. Too many decisions to be made. I don't know what to wear when it is 55 degrees! In Austin when it is 55 degrees we're wearing Santa Claus sweaters and red socks. I don't thing that will work in Spokane this week.

I finally got around to buying some cough syrup with expectorant in it. I have put it off for days just from laziness. I've been blaming this current cold on ragweed but I saw on the news tonight that because of the heat and drought the ragweed season hasn't begun yet. I'll have to find another scape goat.

I guess for the record I need to record that today was the HOTTEST DAY EVER IN AUSTIN TEXAS and I felt every degree of that 112. My thermometer in the backyard only went to 108.9 degrees (like that's a lot better). You don't believe in global warming? Let's take this discussion outside.

I hate the two girls that walk out with David Letterman each night. Yes, I know that isn't a very Christian attitude and I haven't walked a mile in their high heel strappy hooker shoes but I don't care. They nauseate me. End of discussion.

I have to leave Mark some detailed instructions on how to pay the mortgage before I leave. You would think it is a very simple procedure but it isn't. Since I am paying it (again) at the very last possible minute it has to be hand-delivered to the Chase bank downtown. Simple enough. But this time because I have requested a change in my direct deposit I don't know which bank will have my money when this payment is delivered. I don't know on which bank the check can be drawn. Therefore, Mark will have to pay the mortgage from his own checking account, which, being the checking account of a musician, usually contains an assortment of nickels and lint. He will have to deliver this kited check to Chase and simultaneously call my two banks to see where the money has been delivered and then write a check from one (or both) of my accounts to cover his check. This is why I hate business travel.

That and the fact that I feel like I must take everything I own to go on this trip. Not just all my clothes and makeup, but everything. I feel like I need to take my own food in case I'm stuck in a Motel 6 on the outskirts of town with no vehicle. I feel like I must take the 42 books on my bookshelves that I've owned for the last 8 years but I have never read because now I'm sure I will have loads of free time (being at that Motel 6 with no transportation) to read them. I think I need to take a full home PC in order to surf the internet, keep up with this journal, write my e-mail, and, most importanly, write the Great American Novel in my spare time. Simplify, simplify, simplify, I tell myself. There are bookstores in Spokane and cabs and televisions and restaurants. Man, if you think I'm bad for a week in Spokane, you should have seen me going to Europe for two weeks.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland