Tuesday, Sept. 05, 2006 11:14 am

Less lonely

Seems like I avoid my online journal when I'm going through a bad time instead of using it to pour it out. Then, things blow over and I get back to it. And that is where we are today.

I had a fun time in Waco watching the Baylor and TCU game on Sunday. The weather had cooled some and it was cloudy and we laughed and laughed with the boys. B was going on and on about how much sleep he was getting in college. He had no idea that he would be able to sleep so much! Naps in the afternoon and sleeping somewhat late every day. He goes through all of this and poor sleepy C is sitting there with a forlorn look on his face and he says "I want to go!" He has to be up so early and work so long every day. C has been "stalked" by a little high school girl in Houston. He saw her there at the game. I said "Why is she stalking you?" and he just motioned to his face with a "duh" expression like "Wouldn't any woman?" Those kids are funny.

Yesterday Mark and I got into a fight over me being mad at him for not spending time with me. I had decided he could do whatever he wanted to yesterday and I would go to a movie. That hurt his feelings that I didn't ask him so we hashed all of that out for about an hour. Then we were pretty okay and we went to lunch and bought office supplies.

THEN... we went to a cool cemetery. See? We are both strange in that way. Mark had seen it from a street, but I had no idea it was hemmed in there by restaurants and the movie theater. We found an open gate and tramped around looking at all the broken stones. It was huge! Mark determined it was a black cemetery before I did. When I got home I found out that it was a slave and then former slave and decendants of slaves cemetery. There could be 800 graves there, but very few are marked anymore. A group of Mormon kids had cleaned it all up in the last couple of years. People were aware of it and visited (one person even buried there in the last couple of years), but they were too old to keep it up. I love that the kids did that.

Yesterday, old Cotton called to see if there was going to be music put into the system by midnight. Well, duh, Cotton, of COURSE there would be. (oops, better do some music). I watched the movie Capote and did five logs. That's a lot! I think maybe I should do that once a week and keep really ahead. I hate getting behind up there. So I did that and then went by the station on my way to the east side last night.

The club was weird last night. There was a big drunk guy that kept dancing RIGHT in front of the band. The dance floor was moved up and to the side so that the band isn't obscured and also because the floor is so wobbly that dancers made the microphones sway back and forth. This guy would get right in front of the harmonica player (inches away from him!) and dance. It was distracting and alarming. Finally he was asked to not dance there (although he still did some). There was just a weird vibe going on. Good news was that it wasn't nearly as crowded as usual. I guess because of Labor Day. I only stayed through the break. There was some killer barbeque sandwiches, too.

Today we finally have had some rain. Thank God! It has been so blistering hot and so dry. So dry! I think we did get some rain Sunday while I was gone, but we need inches and inches. I hope there is some more on the way today.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland