Sunday, Sept. 05, 2004 1:37 pm

The Chapter in Which I Stand Up for Myself

I'm proud of myself today. Yesterday after I wrote in the journal, I went up to the station to catch up on work. Cotton was up there. I thought he was long gone for the weekend. I got up my nerve and told him I thought it was a lousy thing to call the boss and say I was uncooperative or whatever he had done. He said he did what he felt like he needed to do and that his letter was generic and not specifically about my interview... to which I said, of course it was or I wouldn't have received that email immediately back from the boss. He argued his case more about how he was "protecting my job" and I told him I could protect my own self. I used Mark's great line, too. I said, "Cotton, you may be the producer of the morning show, but you are not the producer of my show." He went on and on about the 7-second and FCC fines, etc., and I said, I don't care about any of that... I care that you're causing trouble with me and the new boss before he even gets here. We left it at disagreement, but I was glad I got it out of my system to some degree and let him know I'm not a wuss anymore. ASSHOLE. I am still so mad.

I had a lot of work to do and it took a lot longer than I expected. After then driving up to the campus and seeing the hordes of people, I almost blew off the tailgate parties and went home. I talked myself into it, though, knowing that this is something that I have said I wanted to do.

I found parking and then walked a million miles, it seemed. I found the tailgate party for the opponent (one of my alma maters) and I stopped there just to say "I graduated from UNT!" Then I went on way far up north to a tailgate party with a guy I know from Wednesday night's shows.

He fixed me up with a margarita and a sausage wrap and introduced me to all his friends. It wasn't the best time in the world, but it was an experience. As it got close to game time, I started my walk back. I stopped by the station van and visited with the interns there a minute. Then I stopped at the bier garten where the AM broadcasts from. I've never been there, which is something since it is such an Austin tradition. I watched some of the game there and visited with our kids that were working there.

Finally I walked on the next few blocks to my car, went to the grocery store, and home. Didn't finish the game since it was obviously a blow out.

Today I'm going to Helotes with the old good boss and his wife to see Jack's festival. Hope we aren't out too late tonight, but he's my designated driver since he gave up drinking. Should be a fun afternoon.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland