Saturday, Sept. 04, 2004 12:52 pm

Cotton sucks up

I'm still feeling good although it is back a little more to the ho-hum, I'm fine... without the euphoria of Wednesday and Thursday.

Yesterday was a stressful, aggravating day. I was to meet a business associate from New York for lunch at 12:30. I got up, skipped breakfast, got to the station early to wait for her. She called and was late becaused she didn't have a car. I had a 2 pm appointment with a client, so we already were going to be pushing it and then she called at 1:10 and said, "Oh, I can't make it, just eat without me." Frustrating. Really too late to get back out. I continued working and then met with the client (I did enjoy that.... he's sort of a friend from a while back that I really like). The woman from NY arrived while I was in that meeting so I put her on hold for a bit. Then I met with her and did learn some interesting things and liked what I picked up, but then it was time to get on the air and lots had to be left undone in my day.

Then the real aggravation of the day began. Backstory: Don't think I wrote any of this in here, but during our big concert at the lake a few weeks ago we broadcast part of one show on the air. That singer, who I love and adore, slipped up a couple of times on the air, came close to saying "fuck" and caught himself and apologized, and then did say "shit" a couple of times. Cotton went ballistic and was calling me on the phone and telling me to go out there and tell him we were going to pull him off the air if he didn't quit (as if he were doing it intentionally). I told Cotton I was NOT going to go out on stage and tell this performer in front of 3000 people to tone it down. Eventually someone made the decision to pull the plug on the show on the air. Probably shouldn't have been broadcast in the first place.

So fast forward to yesterday. He's back in town and going to be on my show and play last night on the campus. I comment in my office, "Oh, good, today is when Jack will be on my show!" Cotton says, "Do you know how to turn on the 7-second delay?" I said, "Yes, but I am not going to turn on the delay, I've had him on many times and that is not even an issue. It won't be a problem." He gets a little huffy and eventually leaves.

I get on the air and get an email from the new boss (who needs a name here) that was addressed to me and the GM (the big boss) saying I needed to do all I could do to protect myself and the station blah blah blah. I wrote back him, the GM, AND Cotton (so he'd know I knew he'd called the boss) and assured him there would not be a problem. I was SO mad through the entire afternoon that he's such a tattletale (is it tattletale if it is BEFORE the fact or is it just ass kissing????). I was a little proud of myself that I did TRY to call Cotton and tell him that he was an asshole, but he didn't answer his phone.

Jack, of course, was fabulous on the air and did a beautiful interview. He left to go to his show and I still had lots of work to wade through. I left a lot of it undone and am heading that way now to finish it all up.

I calmed myself down and went up to the campus for his show. It was amazing. He is so great in that one-on-one setting where he talks a lot and sings such amazing songs. He sang two new ones, too. Great night.

I also met two guys that listen to me and the station. They were the kind of guys that I hope listen to the station. About 30, married, great fans of Texas music... and they had all their teeth.

I'm off to work and then maybe some tailgate parties. I'm sort of without a schedule today, which is nice. I'm feeling some anxiety, which is completely unnecessary, and I'm wondering if it is because I cut my meds in half, hoping I really didn't need them. Maybe I'll take the full dose again today.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland