Saturday, Sept. 27, 2008 7:08 am

Debate and early rising

It is early early in the morning. I'm on the porch and the sky is grey pink. I hear cars so I guess people are up in the world, but I can't imagine why.

I'm about to shower and get dressed and get on the road for San Antonio for our show there tonight. I hope I make it through the day. I know I know what I'm doing and there are plenty of people to help me, but sometimes I feel like a big lummox and idiot.

Now I'm hearing a big train chugging through. It sounds like he's just next door. Sound sure carries in the morning.

I was so tired yesterday. I guess the whole let down from the shows ending and also being on my feet for six hour on Thursday. My old broken ankle was hurting like it hasn't hurt in a long time. And my shoulders were aching. I hope I feel better today. Of course, after today, tomorrow may have me bedfast. That's destructive thinking.

The sweet kitties are out here with me after having had an early breakfast. Willie is cleaning his hand and face and Nathan is in his "cold kitty" kind of tucked under ball, sitting on all ofhis feet and licking his chops. They don't quite know what to make of this early morning hour either.

The first presidential debate was on last night. It has been the wildest week in the economy. I guess I should not that for future reading. Lehman Brothers brokerage went bust, Washington Mutual, the largest bank ever to fail, went bust. AIG, an insurance giant where my old high school classmate Brad works, gets a bailout rescue from the government, and the government is about to inject 700 billion into Wall Street to save the economy. It is frightening on one hand, on the other, people survived the Depression. Not that I want to be living in our car in California, but I guess we'll just have to see where life takes us. I remember the crash in the 80s and the near recession in 2001. I bounced back from each of them with better jobs eventually (and more debt, granted).

But back to the debate. There was quite the controversy when McCain felt it was more important to go back to Washington to work on the economy problem than to go to the debate. Then he said he wouldn't do the debate unless an agreement had been reached. It hasn't, but he did the debate anyway. I think he realized that Obama would get a whole lot of TV time that he wouldn't if he weren't there. He did well during the debate, but I still liked what Obama had to say more. And McCain kind of had an exasperated attitude of "I know best and I'm going to do it my way." I saw a bit of a story on 20/20 about Obama heading up the Law Review at Harvard and how there was a lot of dissension (that doesn't look right, but that's what the computer dictionary says is better than my spelling) between the conservative students and the liberal students. Even the conservative students wanted Obama to be their leader because they knew he was the best at finding compromise and hearing all sides. I hope he can do that as a president. I truly thought that Bush would be a bipartisan leader like he had been in Texas. I was wrong.

Today I will be down in San Antonio by 930 or so. We have a meeting/walk through at 10 a.m. and then I work on putting together ice and water for the stages along with towels. At some point I go get barbecue for the bands (I'm wondering where lunch is coming from?... it is for dinner). Maybe we'll have time to go out to lunch? I don't think so. Lunch has never been discussed. Maybe I'd better make me a sandwich. At 6 the music starts on various stages and at that point I expect most of the artists will be going away from the little place I'm stationed (except maybe the headliner who doesn't start until 8 or so). I hope I can get out and see some of the music, too, especially Ian McLagan and Mingo Fishtrap since they are both new to me. And the Marshall Ford Swing Band who I have never seen, but I have loved their NAME and their sound for a long time.

I had some wild dreams this morning. In one Joey and Greg, the booking agent I saw Thursday, needed to go to ACL early in the morning. I think I was still in pajamas, but I said I'd take them. So we get in a car that has someone else driving and we go across town to a coffee shop where they were going to walk from or something. The coffee shop was crowded and there was even live music going there and I commented about how sometime there was a little too much live music in this town. So they get out and I'm about to go home when two girls jumped in and wanted to be taken somewhere. I'm sure I got this from an upcoming moving Nick and Nora Share Playlists (or something like that), but the girls thought it was a taxi. Then I realized it WAS a taxi and I had hijacked a taxi and was mortified (but awake I don't know why I was so dumbfounded, just pay the guy!). So I was apologizing all over myself to the driver for getting him into this situation and I think one of the girls got out, but the driver was going to forgive me if I would help him "witness." He started telling about the problems one of the girls had and he wanted me to help somehow. Odd.

There was also a dream where my sister and I and another girl were asleep in a bedroom and I heard someone come in and say "Are you awake?" and I was struggling to get my earplugs out and see who it was. M later said it was the girl's father and the girl was mumbling in her sleep about her boyfriend (but M thought she was faking) and her father was quizzing her to see what she would say.

I've been out here for 20 minutes and I would love to stay all morning and feel the sun come up and see the world in the yard come to life, but I guess I'll go experience the Gardens and make some money. I'm VERY worried about the economy of our household with a lot less income coming up. We're barely squeaking by right now and it is about to take two big hits in the next few weeks. I am praying that something good will open up or it will be a skinny skinny Christmas.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland