Friday, Sept. 26, 2008 12:42 pm

Series end

We have made it through the music series. I used to dread the 26 weeks of ONE night of commitment a week and this year I had 26 weeks of TWO nights a week. Of course, the first night wasn't supposed to be mine all year, but it ended up that way. Oh well, it was good money for hanging out at a show.

Wednesdays show was crowded, but we still didn't make much money. M&M doesn't understand that the economy has hurt our shows. She says "It's a free show!" like that is all that matters, but I know people think about the gas it takes to get there and the $4 (plus a tip) beers that they will likely drink when they get there. Free shows are never "free." The headliner was drunk and stayed drunk, but his sweet brother joined him and that made it special. Odd how two different guys come out of the same family. He made several sort of nasty crude remarks about his marriage and his wife. I thought that would have been okay if his wife was some anonymous ex like Cornell has, but when we all know exactly who he is referring to, that is pretty low-class. Oh well, I've known he was low-class all along.

Last night's show was very high class. I am a fan of Alejandro now. He and the band were on time and professional and dressed up for the show and put on an amazing performance. Sad to let this series go. Okay, not really. I will miss hanging out with Rusty. That has been the most fun each week. Brett, too. They have such a "can do" attitude and just make things work.

I forgot to thank my production people from the stage and I feel bad. I had an opportunity and I didn't see it. They noticed it, I'm sure.

I am exhausted this week. I've been running errands for the Gardens show and picking up waters and gatorades and stuff everywhere. Now I need to get into the office and put out fires and wrap up the week and the series and make sure the next three weeks of San Antonio's series end nicely.

Mark may have an opportunity to play some with Cornell as one of his drummers. He has wanted to play with him a long time, but the band is so different now, it is sad. No Danny, no Herb, no Blackie, no Paul, no one "weird" at all, Mark says. I guess it will have to be him!

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland