Monday, Sept. 26, 2005 9:23 am

Early start to the week

I am up extra early this morning because Mark had a 9 a.m. meeting. I am so grateful that meetings are few and far between in my world. Well, they are in his, too. We are both very lucky.

On the other hand, I do like being up this early and feeling like I can get some things accomplished if I just set my mind to it. I did get a lot done yesterday and threw out lots of trash from my office, but there is still lots to be done. And even some work stuff I would like to do while I'm home and it is quiet and uninterrupted.

My cousin wrote this morning that it is 53 degrees in Amarillo with a chill factor of 48. I miss that so much! It reminds me of getting off to school on the school bus in the mornings and the bus being SO chilly. You knew it would heat up later in the day so you hated wearing warmer clothes, but it was cold in the morning. And the smell of the feedlot would come wafting out way... Yes, I need to remember all of it, not just the good parts. I know when we are having 53 degree mornings and they are having 13 degree mornings, I will be VERY happy I am in our hot Austin home.

My old roommate and friend OhDi is having another crisis in her life. I feel so sorry for that girl. She had breast cancer, she had a horrible job, she lovingly took care of her very old grandmother for years and years until she died this past spring. And that's just the highlights, there are many subplots of having to raise her nephew and neice and cousin's children and, of course, the fact that her own mother died when she was just 18 (OhDi, not the mother) and she had to raise her own brother and sister.... this is a caregiving girl! Now, she has finally gotten a new, less stressful job and is in remission with the cancer. She was out of town on busines when her husband went to the doctor for a routine physical and he did a treadmill test. The doctor didn't like what he saw and put him in the hospital for a cath test... and then triple bypass surgery. The doctor said that his blockage is the kind that usually the first symptom is death. He is very lucky. But he is still in the hospital. And their Christmas letter this year should be a doozy.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland