Tuesday, Sept. 25, 2007 10:05 am

Sad news

Yesterday was a sad day. Mark called me while I was at work with sad news. I just felt a cold hand grip my heart. I just don't want to hear any sad news. Our friend Gary, a great harmonica player and blues singer, was found dead. My mind immediately went to suicide and that was my assumption through most of the day, but it turns out it wasn't really suicide (or was it?), he overdosed on heroin. So sad. It is sad to me that I actually know people that use heroin and think that they can live a semi-normal life. He had had a lot of heartache and troubles in these last few years with a divorce and a couple of DUIs a few weeks ago. But he had played just two weeks ago with Mark and the band and Mark said it was the best recording he'd ever made out there. I didn't go to the club last night. Mark said it was sad. They did their job, but they were all pretty torn up about it, especially the regular harmonica player and another sub harmonica player that idolized Gary. So unnecessary.

Before all of this happened I did have a good time with Kevin playing for a small group of winners up at the station. Many of the regular winners were there. I keep saying I need to write my little paragraphs or observations of these odd listeners. The Coach and his wife were there. He's so burly and blustery and full of himself. And I just wonder if she is mentally challenged. If she is, they don't make a deal about it, as they shouldn't, I would suppose. She has these squinty squinty eyes and almost never opens them and has a real stuttery, hesitant way of talking. It seemed more apparent yesterday than ever before. The fat guy that moved here from Illinois was here, too. I admire Kevin for his tolerance of his fans, and his are more fanatical than any of mine will ever be, that's for sure. Kevin did a great little short show and then I did a quick interview with him that can air today on CD release day. I have to get dressed and get up to the CD release momentarily.

I stayed late at work last night, working on logs and shows and such. The Hamster came popping by pretty late, too. They are working on budgets and were there into the night. Glad he sees me working so late occasionally since I get there so late every day!

My high school reunion is getting closer. I will have to get completely ready before Friday. It will be a hectic day, trying to get out to the airport and on a plane that evening. I hope I have a good time up there and all goes smoothly. My sister is sad and jealous that I'm going, which takes away a lot of the pleasure. I don't know if I'll get to see my sick cousin or not. I will just play it by ear and if I can go by and hug her, I want to. I am going to meet a cousin I've never met before. We've emailed genealogy information and are distantly related.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland