September 25, 2002 11:22 pm

Full Moon

If you click the link to older entries on the left side of this panel, it ignores about the last two months of entries. I don't know why that is. I suppose I need to find them by typing in the url and save them somewhere so I have them. They may be lost for all eternity. Who knows? I am getting used to this medium being as fleeting as radio. In many ways I prefer that. Who needs longevity?

I just got in from the Ray Wylie Hubbard show at Threadgill's. In many ways it was the best show we've had the whole summer. I think he ranks as THE best showman we have had. He told stories and was funny and never let the show lag. I never wished it was over so I could go on home.

The UT game on Saturday was great fun. I took one of my bosses from the doctor's office. He is a UT grad and showed me the stadium and the various classes of people that get certain seats and we even ended up on the field right next to Bevo at one point. Now that was in error and an usher quickly came to check our passes and usher us back out, but it was fun while it lasted. Quite an adventure to go to the game and see all that goes on OUTSIDE the game as well as inside. Next home game I think I'll just go walk around outside and join someone's tailgate party. I'm sure someone would be willing.

Did you see the moon over the weekend? The big full moon in Pisces was amazing to see. When I was driving home Friday night I glanced back over my shoulder from Mopac to see downtown. It was just before sundown so the sky was still lit, but the downtown building were also lit. And that moon, the biggest I have ever seen, was sitting right among the buildings but you could see the entire circle. Incredible. The kind of thing you'd see in a composite photo or a painting, but never for real! Saturday night I was watching and waiting for it at the game, knowing I was facing east and had a prime seat for it. Sure enough, it appeared before I realized it and was sitting there, bright burnt orange, on the edge of the other side of the stadium. It rose so fast and at an angle. I watched it go from one side of a pole to the other in about ten minutes. Once it was "launched" it seemed to slow down and hover a bit more through the rest of the game. Incredible. I love full moons.

I bought a new stove and dishwasher last night. A girl at one of my jobs had them for sale. They are brand new, but the basic models. She bought a new house and they came with it. She wanted better so she had to get rid of these. I was happy to take them from her for about half of their retail cost. We needed the new dishwasher and the new stove will be nice and clean.

Tomorrow I'm going back to see the good therapist I had a long while back. Time to sort out what I want from this world again. I hope I can figure it out in one expensive session instead of many.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland