Tuesday, Sept. 23, 2008 10:58 am

Dumps

I'm always playing catch-up here. Best part of the last week? A great visit from my older nephew and his roommate on Friday night. Sweet, polite, funny, interesting, SMART kids.

Worst part? I've fallen back into this malaise. I am thinking about going by the Herb Bar and having them mix me up a Bach Flower Essence to overcome it. I thought I was coming out, but I feel right back in it.

The Thursday show last week was Gary Clark with Eve opening. I have never seen Eve's own thing and it was a lot more 60s rock or pop than blues, which is what I expected. The manager didn't care much for it. I missed the bass player talking about wet t-shirt contests, etc. Not much there. Gary was sit-down and boring, as I expected. But of course I was in that mood. I did go out to the parking lot and check email and kill some time. It ended slightly early and I was out of there by 10. One more to go. Whew.

M&M had her friend in town so I didn't see much of her. She did come in to the office on Friday for a short bit. We had to get the advances out for this weeks Gardens show. She had gone through the old ones and changed names so I would know who would be on each stage. But then she'd keep looking them over and saying, No, we're going to change this time, like "Why didn't you change this, you should know this." Frustrating. And she kept expecting, all week, that I would find the contact information for these artists, yet I didn't even have the correct spelling of their names or they were not on myspace so she had to get me that before I could do more.

So the weekend got here. The boys were here Friday night and I took them to dinner at this cool new South Austin Trailer Park and Eatery. We had really big hamburgers and malts. Home to watch Baylor and then they went to bed to get up early to kayak. We teased them for going to bed before the old folks. Of course, B had been up since 5 a.m. with crew. The roommate, Adam, made me laugh. I said something about the pink and blue quilt I made for B and Adam said, Oh you didn't know he was a boy? You had to put dinosaurs AND kitties. .... Just struck us all as funny and then we thought about how dinosaurs were not part of childhood nursery motif for me and Mark when we were kids. Astronauts were the fascination and cowboys and Indians were certainly a nursery motif that isn't used anymore. And Army men were a favorite plaything, too.

The boys went kayaking Saturday morning and then we met them for breakfast at Cisco's. Then they got on their way and we went to the Pecan Street Festival for a little while. It was fun to do something like that with Mark again. I ended up with a shirt (a very sexy shirt!) and a map of Comanche County. I don't think Mark got anything in the end.

We took a nap, but it didn't seem to perk us up. I went to the Calf Fry and enjoyed the ambiance, but my friend Billy that has a brain tumor was there but was gone before I found and talked to him. That brought me down. The music was pretty good, but I didn't stay until the end. I went on over to where Mark was playing and saw a few songs. That bar is so close to my house! Then gas and groceries and home to make tuna salad and start a brisket for Sunday lunch.

Sunday I cooked eggs for breakfast and we did out own projects. Later in the day we had brisket and potatoes and broccoli and spinach. It was a great meal. My younger nephew C called while he was on the road going to church. He asked what I was doing and I said I was watching football and posting graves on findagrave. We laughed at the juxtaposition. And he said he tells people about his aunt "She puts graves up on the internet.... but she's really cool, too, she knows Willie Nelson!" I guess he has to justify my oddness.

Yesterday M&M and Mark's boss and I went to San Antonio to check out the concert venue for this Saturday. Beautiful place! I insisted on driving. M&M didn't quite understand why I wouldn't ride with her. I told her she'd had two wrecks since I last rode with her. Those? Oh those were just because she fell asleep on Mopac. If people were with her she wouldn't fall asleep. Later I mentioned the wreck in Fort Worth. Oh that? No that was a "real" wreck.... and it wasn't her fault! Then Dave pointed out the yellow paint on her bumper. Oh that was just bumping something in a parking lot, not a wreck. Geeeeeeez. I'm just glad I drove and didn't fear for my life for an hour and a half.

Last night I couldn't make it to the east side. I took an afternoon nap, but it wasn't very satisfying. I had been up too early. I did some desultory genealogy, not really accomplishing much at all.

Now I need to get a shower and get to work by noon. She is only going to be in the office today and maybe tomorrow so there is a lot to be done. Oh, and yesterday we discovered I had double booked the opening act in SA so that took some rearranging that made me feel lousy. I need better controls for next year. This was totally my fault and I don't know how it happened.

Mark and I are both down in the dumps again. His friend Liz has ovarian cancer and they did surgery but it has spread and there is going to be a hysterectomy on the way, but that may not get it all either. She's upbeat, but I think it is devastating him like Billy's cancer is devastating me. And she's only 23!! He and I have been trying these hocum foot pads that draw out toxins, but they are probably a scam. Three nights and no difference.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland