Friday, Sept. 23, 2005 11:30 am

Storm averted

All the preparation for the storm seemed for nothing in just a few hours. But, so far, I'm still very glad we were ready. You never know. Now it looks like poor Beaumont and Port Arthur and Orange will be hit. I doubt that they will get the outpouring of national emotion that New Orleans had. Who has fond memories of Beaumont?

ACLFest is a go, it looks like. I, like Greg, am glad that I don't have to be involved this year. It is nice to think that it would be fun, but last year's was SO hot and miserable that I was dreading day two and day three before day one ended. Today is going to be just as hot and miserable (or worse) than last year. And then tomorrow could have rain and wind after all. Who knows. I hope everyone has a safe stay and nothing has to be cancelled, for the sake of my friends at Cap. Sports & Entertainment. I know they are sweating it.

Yesterday I told my group that I was ready to move on and leave them. We had a big discussion and I learned a lot and we debated it every which way. I still left it that I was leaving, but, of course, I was having all sorts of second thoughts. Then, this morning, I had a wild wild dream of epic proportions that seems to direct me not to quit. It was so vivid that I got up at 630 and wrote it all down so I wouldn't forget the details like the group of women giving me the KEY and me being mad because people didn't tell me things and feeling violated and exposed. Lots of interesting things in it. I will ponder it this week and see where it takes me next week.

Last night I had a beer with a friend from work. We had had a very rough afternoon reporting on all the traffic problems and shelters and latest weather and such and were beat. I still had some work to do, but needed the quick break. It was fun. I got to thinking that he is probably my oldest Austin friend since we worked the old job together, too. I still know a lot of people from the old job, but I can't think of any that I like to talk to, DO talk to, and have the opportunity to go get a beer with sometimes.

If I am not going to be working this weekend, I need to find a goal for myself. I could say I will clean up this office, but that is too lofty. There is not way an individual could clean (and DO something with) everything in this office. But I need to try. So I am going to commit to cleaning off the desk top and making more space on it. And I'm going to hook up this other printer/scanner and see if it will work. Okay, now I have a goal. Thank you for your cooperation.


Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland