Friday, Sept. 02, 2005 12:16 pm

Lazy

Man, it is after noon and I'm still groggy, in pajamas and drinking coffee. I haven't even gotten to the paper (delivered on Friday, Saturday, and Sunday only, so it is a treat!).

Mark is really sick and that has kept him sleeping late. He played late last night and came to bed about 4, I think. He's snorting and wheezing and not feeling well at all, poor guy.

And, me, I'm lazy. I just don't want to go to work. I know the boss is out of town, the offices close at 3, and I'm stuck up there doing my thing all afternoon. I will go in a little late.

I am on vacation, sort of, after today. I haven't done enough work to really be off through the whole week, but I'm not going to sweat it. I'll do some of it today and some later and just come and go as I please this next week.

I've asked Mark several times when he would have one day off during my vacation for us to do something together. He has been very noncommittal since he isn't feeling well and doesn't want me to get mad if commits and then can't do it. I am fearful that the whole week will slip away without anything memorable. I swear I will at least go to Barton Springs on Thursday if nothing else. I haven't been all summer and it should be hot and quiet on this Thursday afternoon.

I've been reading Jette's entries about her family in New Orleans. I am glad that they are all safe, but sorry they are not in their own homes and their own jobs, safe and secure. Nothing has ever happened that has made me think about getting a disaster preparedness kit together like this has. I don't WANT to be someone that relies on the government or charities to take care of me. I keep trying to think of who I know on the coast. I used to be on radio stations (via intranet) in Biloxi, Jackson, and Baton Rouge. I'm sure the Biloxi folks are terribly affected. I never met any of them and didn't know them well, but they are on my mind. And I think of people we met in passing in New Orleans... My friend Greg's friend Barry who worked for the Picayune. She was a cool chick and used to join us for Jazzfest. I think of the players at the jazz place in the Quarter that were so cool and so talented. I realize New Orleans is a huge city and there is more to it than the Quarter, but that is where so many of my memories are. Will we ever get to have another beignet at Cafe du Monde? Will St. Louis Cathedral be able to be cleaned out and be "normal." Now I'm just being selfish of places I want to be there. I am terribly worried for all the poor people, and you know how poor those people are if you've ever visited, that had nothing before and really have nothing now. It is just unfathomable.

Okay, I'm going to drag myself to work. Voice watch: Some swallowing difficulty this morning, choking, which means the botox is getting to the right nerves. That's a good sign. My voice had some moments of nice clarity yesterday, even though it still wasn't easy to talk. Maybe getting better. Time will tell.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland