Wednesday, Sept. 21, 2005 10:52 am

Flustered

I had Billy Joe on my show yesterday and I was flustered through it all. Partly I was flustered because he was on the show at 3 pm. That's the beginning of my show and I haven't had time to settle in and "arrange" things. It is hard to just jump in immediately to an interview situation. Secondly, I had on a dress and hose. We were going to Chicago! last night so I dressed up and I just can't work well in a dress, I've found. And third, Billy Joe is charming. I like him immensely, but he is also hard to talk to sometime. He voice is very soft and he doesn't volunteer a lot of information, so it can be a difficult interview. I love him, but I had a terrible interview yesterday, I'm afraid. But, we played a lot of the new album and that was what he needed primarily. I hope a lot of people go and buy it. Go buy it!!

We did go see Chicago! and had a wonderful time last night. I'd never been to the Bass before. Just walking the short distance across campus, I saw things I'd never seen there before. I need to get out and really walk around UT one of these days. There are lots of neat things! The play itself was fun. Lots of singing and dancing (duh, it's a musical). Tom Wopat was only average. If he hadn't been Luke Duke there wouldn't be much reason to have him in this show. He doesn't have a lot of onstage charisma, but the two women were really amazing. Then, as we have done in the past, we drove all the way home before we realized that my car was still at the office. I had to go back and get it, there has been lots of vandalism and theft at work and I didn't want it to be there all night.

Yesterday I wrote about my looney caller, who didn't call again, thank goodness. But now a wacky emailer from the past has come back. He started writing me last summer when President Reagan died. He was really really mad that we continued regular programming on that Sunday afternoon and didn't do a day-long tribute to our greatest president. I think he was especially offended by some song about beer or women or something that was entirely inappropriate after our president had died. Give me a break. He also absolutely abhors our morning man (the elder) and likes to tell us how much he (and everyone, he says) hates him. Yes, despite being the number one morning show in town. He says we would have even MORE listeners if we got rid of him. Sure, right. Well, that was all last year, but, like I have an ear for voices, I also remember email names. He wrote yesterday with the kind advice that maybe if I quit my San Antonio shift I would have a better voice (I think he wrote that as if he thought I think people don't know I have a San Antonio shift and he is "in the know"). He said that he liked my personality, but that my voice was like fingernails on a blackboard and he couldn't stand it. He said he expected that it was reducing our time-spent-listening because it was so bad. Of course, I had to fight all impulses to answer at all. I'd love to write and tell him to Fuck Off or to at least say "don't listen!" but I know that would just start a flood of emails. Better to ignore the ignorant.

Today I will be taking to the stage with my box at the cafe. I need to practice my solo a couple of times this morning just to make sure I know it again. Tonight there will be more pressure since I will have an intensely interested audience, but it will also be more rewarding. I remember the ovation I got there last year and it was quite a rush. It will be fun.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland