Tuesday, Sept. 20, 2005 10:37 am

Lunatic time

Every so often in radio, a jock will have someone being weird enough on the phone that it gets a little frightening. I've got one of those situations going right now. I hope he goes away, but I expect he'll be calling again this afternoon.

I am VERY good at knowing people, remembering voices. This guy called when I was on vacation and my replacement talked to him and I happened to be in the room. Then he called when I got back and talked to me. He lives far south (next market) and is concerned about the pets of New Orleans. Well, I'm concerned about the pets, too. But he has called and is TELLING me what I need to say on the air. That really infuriates me when people direct me in my job in that way. He called the first day and started his diatribe and I asked him to send me the information in an email so that we could use it on the air.

He called back yesterday. Callers like him are also very "do you remember me?" They expect you to remember them and at the same time want to tell you everything they've said before, again. I ended up hanging up on him and he called back and back and back. I hang up people when they use language I don't like, or I hang up people when the conversation is going nowhere and I will say, "Goodbye" or "I'm hanging up now." He kept calling back and the obscenities were flying, which, of course, meant I hung up again and again. Then he would call, acting as if that had NOT been him calling, and I would explain calmly that I won't listen to that language, I will need approval to put his information on the air in a PSA, and I am hanging up now. Even when I got to my office when I was off the air, there was a message from him that I didn't listen to and deleted. I probably should have saved it in case I need it. This guy doesn't sound like he would have a license to drive or the money for a car, but that may be pre-judging him, I don't know. For now, I will be super-cautious leaving the station and at public events. Since he doesn't live here, that's a good thing, but since he is deranged, that is not a good thing.

Otherwise, how are things? Things are good. We're going to see the musical Chicago tonight at the PAC. I hope it is good.

I watched Cowboy football last night. It has been a long time since I really watched a Cowboy game and got into it. They proved once again that if there is a way to lose a game, they will find it.

I did music yesterday with the boss and got the new Shaver song added. I was very happy about that. We talked about various music things and my possible new Texas show. We've been talking for five months now and he still says it is going to happen. I need to get him some clocks and thoughts. He does things in weird order, to me. sigh

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland