Monday, Sept. 19, 2005 11:32 am

Nighttime Intruder

I am groggy and slowly getting to my day.

Sounds like I missed lots of excitement in the middle of the night last night. Mark said he heard the sound of glass breaking at 4 a.m. Rather than being jolted awake he had that sleepy mind battle between "Just go to sleep and everything will be fine" and "You'd better get up and see what is wrong." He finally got up and went to the living room, and there he found Kirby, our neighbor's 17-year-old cat. Kirby is an outdoor cat and often visits our backporch and yard, but never our house! Apparently he had gotten into the garage when Mark took out the trash or was outside working and Mark hadn't seen him. Now, in the middle of the night, he started exploring and found his way through the kitty door.

Kirby didn't want to go out through the back door, so Mark had to round up Nathan Jr. (who knows how to dart out of the garage in a flash) and got Kirby to go back out the way he came in. But then, Mark needed to find Willie to make sure that he was in the house and safe. Willie was nowhere to be found. Mark got the flashlight, so as not to wake me, and was searching under the bed, in the closets, through the house. Finally he found Willie up behind the headboard on a table that sits there.

All of that intruder commotion and I slept through it all. I do recall hearing Mark get up and opening the garage and I wondered why he was doing it. I thought maybe he had forgotten to set out some of the trash, but that didn't seem like a good explanation, but I was back asleep before he came back to bed to ask him.

So, excitement in my life and I missed it all. Just as well, as sleepy as I still am this morning.

Another storm is churning in the gulf, which, of course, is much more frightening on the third week after Katrina. This one seems more likely to hit the Texas coast, but, hopefully, will only bring us all some rain and not damage and destruction. My oil rig worker friend is already home, I think, so maybe he won't have to be fleeing ahead of it (not that he does, the company is VERY good about evacuating those rigs long before there is any danger).

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland