Sunday, Sept. 19, 2004 11:31 am

ACL Day Two

I'm dragging. And dreading. Not really dreading going back to ACL for another day, just wishing I didn't have to. Yes, a lot of the snap has gone out of it because of the heat and the crowds.

Add to that the dis-invite to the Dallas party. Last night Mark called after the party and told me how everyone asked about me and missed me. That was supposed to make me feel good? It just made me sad that he had dis-invited me. Then I felt ANGRY when he tells me that he's on his way to a really nice hotel for the night. The guy who threw the party paid for a night for him. I missed out on a night in a nice hotel with my husband. What a drag.

Saturday at ACL was easier than Friday. A Saturday show doesn't have traffic and live spots and lots of interruptions. It was mainly just three easy breaks an hour. And the festival was a sell-out so there was no need to "sell" it... just some talking about it.

I introduced Bruce and it was great to see him. He said he listened to the interview with Charlie and that I went too easy on him. He said he'd had lots of people ask him about the "feud" and what it was about. People listen! He also listened to Charlie's show that night and wanted to come down, but that was the kids bedtime. He's a good Daddy. I only got to see two of his songs since I was broadcasting. I hated to miss a good show from him. I want to see him again soon.

I had Trish Murphy and Reckless Kelly's Willie on my show through the afternoon.

Introduced Reckless after my show was over. I met them two years ago at this festival and have gotten to know them quite well over this time. They were doing a great show, but I wandered over to experience Charles "Gatemouth" Brown. My old boss was saying he sang "Ain't Got No Home" but that's not right I'm thinking today. That was Clarence "Frogman" Henry. Easy to see how you'd get confused.

After the festival (well, after I left, it was still in full swing) I had to go back to the station and do a lot of work. Hard to want to do that when I'm all sweaty and dirty, but the air conditioning sure felt good. And the quiet. I need lots of quiet after having thump-thump-thump behind me all afternoon. Oh, the Gourds were one of the bands behind me on the stage and they did sound great... with an accordion!

Also had to go to the grocery store. I'm always eyeing people and wandering why they would go out in public dressed the way they are. I'm sure people were looking askance at me in my big hiking boots and shorts and dirty tanktop and clumpy sweaty hair. I got my cat food and bread and got out fast.

Showers are a wonderful thing. So great to come home to one's own home and shower and clean up and go to bed. I'm so glad I'm not a visitor to the city... I didn't have to go back out to dinner and clubs and experience a bit of heaven in a weekend. I'll wait until the tourists go home and then I'll go enjoy the real city.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland