Sunday, Sept. 17, 2006 12:22 pm

This busy week ends

Again, some catch-up is due, and I certainly have time to catch up with nothing stretching ahead of me. This is ACL weekend and I have a pair of tickets waiting for me. How horrible am I for not going? I am still debating with myself, but I just can't see me getting it together enough to get dressed and call someone and go park and walk and be a part of the scene there. The two bands I want to see are playing in two weeks where I will see them and enjoy it more, so I think (yes, still debating) I will wait and just veg more today. It is raining some and keeping the day cool, which would be good at the park, but still... the effort.

I think my "mosquito bites" are not bites at all. I don't really know what is going on, but it is spreading. Eczema? I had something like this once before about ten years ago and it took steroid creams to cure it. I will go to the doctor tomorrow. The back of my knee is getting worse instead of better and there are now eight or more other bumps down my leg. I think it is making my mind a little crazy, too. Itching is crazy-causing. I took Tylenol PM last night for the Benadryl and slept hard.

Mark did end up working the weekend away, poor dear. I wish he would get some time off.

Thursday Jack was on my show. He brought his little girl Ava with him. She was a little fussy, poor bored child. My promotions director, bless her, brought Ava some colors and that kept her occupied. Her "Daddy I have to tinkle" on the air was priceless. He was sweet and wonderful and a good interview again, though the distraction of a child made it a little harder.

Friday was a longass busy hard day. Fun, but longass, busy and hard. I went to my first tour stop in Bastrop and met a lot of great people there for lunch. I hope I was able to talk to them each enough. It really wasn't like I pictured it would be (is it ever?) and a few did try to monopolize me some, but we got to eat some good barbeque and I visited with my cousin and many others. I barely got back to the station in time for my show. I made a quick side trip to see the new resort out there and it is fabulous. I wonder if it has a restaurant? That would be a fun little trip, just to eat.

There's been a juggle with two interviews going on and it all worked out. My little Irish saleswoman had been panicked that I was forgetting her interview for a big event in Seguin and kept emailing me to doublecheck that I was going to do the interview at 4 pm. I assured her that I had pushed Guy back to make sure I could get her interview on either live or recorded at 4 pm. Sure enough, Red Steagall called at 3 pm instead of 4 (you never really know with interviews!) and I put it on then. We had a good conversation, though I still would have preferred to have had him live and I don't really know why he couldn't do it live.

Then, the big interview with Guy came along. I hadn't realized until Jack mentioned it and then I read it in the paper, that Guy had had cancer this year. I had no idea! But he looked healthy and had his hair back, but was much older than when I last saw him and had to have hearing aids for the interview. Verlon was with him and he was wonderful, though silent. I am glad I had the opportunity to interview him and, of course, will take any other opportunity I ever have, but it wasn't an easy interview and I don't think it went really well. I don't know that anyone listening learned anything they hadn't heard before and I think I did most of the talking. He was SO quiet and hard to hear. He did perform two songs, though, and that was fabulous. To have Guy Clark sitting five feet from me and singing was an incredible experience.

I was quite relieved when the pressure of that interview was over and I was alone again. Relief. Great relief that the tests of the week were over.

I still worked until 10 pm that night trying to get stuff done for this so-called vacation.

Yesterday, I was off. I didn't do a darn thing. Oh, I mowed the lawn and did some yard trimming and watering. I worked on my computer some and got some files reorganized better. I watched some of Texas over Rice until I got bored and watched some new TV shows I had taped and went and took a nap.

Today I don't expect much more to be accomplished. I am so tired and itchy. I need to go to the store desperately, no doubt about that. I would like to cook a casserole or something for Mark to eat if he gets a chance to come home. And I need to work on my station website, too. Details details. All I want to do is go crawl in bed with my book.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland