Sunday, Sept. 18, 2005 1:49 am

Hot Fall

Is it ever going to get cool? I love fall in Austin, but when is it going to be fall? It certainly wasn't today. I was in Bastrop for a grand opening remote. Lots of really nice people. LOTS of people. Met a sweet lady from Scotland that had an accordion she wanted to sell me. It was a beauty and I'd like to have it, but I don't need another accordion. There were so many people that you get the grabby people at something like this. I don't know why everyone is so entranced at the thought of winning a t-shirt! Doesn't everyone have a closet full of t-shirts like I do? Maybe not and they really really need one more shirt with advertising on it. Because of the crush of people and the limited amount of prizes, I developed some trivia questions to play to allow them to win. But why do people, when they've missed their trivia question, feel like we should give them another and another until they win?

I was very relieved when the remote was over and we could leave. The clients were really nice, the people were really nice, it was just the CRUSH of so many people that wore me out. And the heat. I was dressed much too warmly for the day.

I came home and brought hamburgers. Mark had come in from Corpus this morning at 4 a.m. so he was pretty beat, too. He got his load in at the club done and came home and we took a good long nap.

Tonight he's gone to play. I watched UT beating Rice, but it got too boring so I watched the old Joan Crawford movie Mildren Pierce. I thought I had seen it years ago, but I hadn't. Interesting to see Zachary Scott in all his handsome oiliness and know that he is buried in Austin now. I watched a bit of USC and Arkansas and tried to cheer for Arkansas (but it goes against my nature) but they didn't stand a chance anyway.

Tomorrow I think we'll have a good day. We are both off work and we are planning on going to the Citywide and lunch and possibly a movie. I want Mark to see the 40 Year Old Virgin. Some together time after this busy week will be good.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland