Monday, Sept. 13, 2010 7:27 am

Yes, the Cowboys Suck

Upon re-reading my Friday entry, I had a weekend of accomplishment, I guess. I did watch a lot of football, swept and cleaned the back and front porches and took care of the plants a little (though they still need water), moved some of the CDs on the bed, and mostly had a lazy weekend without too much anxiety.

Friday night I had a great visit with my old traffic girl and I gave her this address. Not many people even know this diary even exists, but she brought it up and wanted to read it so I said go ahead. I figure it is pretty boring anyway with a lot of "to be done" lists and "what I did" lists and very little gossip anymore. Just the anxiety of a middle-aged menopausal woman. Enjoy!

We did have a great visit at her house though, over a bottle of wine. Her older boy was still awake when I got there, though he was cheerfully going to bed without a fuss. He is adorable. I remember when she was pregnant with him. She is absolutely a knock-out and her husband is movie star handsome. Everyone else was telling them they were going to have a beautiful child. I told her that she was probably going to have an ugly child because that's how recessive genes work and if she had an ugly child I would be the one honest friend that would tell her so, since she and her husband obviously would be blinded by love. But, man oh man, their beauty genes have come through with full force on both of their boys and they are Gerber baby/Parent magazine/movie star pretty children. And, from what little I've seen, very good kids, too. They are good parents.

(okay, hopefully if I've ever written anything catty about her and she finds that, the glow -- and truth -- of what I've just written will even things out)

Mark has a colonoscopy (weird -- that's not in the online dictionary) on Wednesday. He's pretty nervous about it all and about being under anesthesia. I don't blame him. I'm nervous, too. I am glad he's doing it though. I've had so many death thoughts and disease thoughts, though, I hope, of course, that there is no problem or troubles in there. One of my former co-workers had colon cancer at only 33 or so and that is scary. Of course, he has great genes like I do and cancer is rare in both of our families, so I'm sure it will be fine and it's always good to know. Especially on the treatable cancers. I need to have one myself, but now that we have discovered they cost about $1000 even when you HAVE insurance, I will probably put mine off until at least I can see what the cost would be if we've met our deductible for this year. We probably each have our own deductible and it won't make a difference. At least his will be covered by the spending account with pre-tax money, but it will take the rest of it, so I can do that next year and have that pay for the deductible. It's financial medical worries like that that make me go into deep middle-age with trepidation.

The changes at the radio station got me to thinking about what I liked about radio and whether I would go back. I think one thing I really really liked about radio was that people like you before they even know you. You become a "celebrity" who people are happy to meet and they treat you nice without having to "earn" that niceness. Our here in the "real world" my clients don't seem to know how wonderful and cool I am and I am not good at playing the game to create that aura of authority and competence and wonderfulness, so I feel that I am disliked or not taken seriously. It's weird, I know.

I'm out on the patio again this morning and it is lovely. Cool, though lots of airplane and car noise, which is usually not the case. The squirrels are still asleep, but the birds are singing. I can't believe how quickly mid-September has gotten here.

And mid-September means that this was the first weekend of football. I did watch a lot of football with Texas winning on Saturday and all the pro games yesterday. Mark even settled down and watched the Cowboy debut last night with me, though he slept through the fourth quarter. I hate to write about football in diaries because it will mean absolutely nothing to me in another week. I am not one of those guys that remembers every play of every game they've ever watched. But man that Cowboy game was absolutely lousy. They looked like they hadn't even practiced and they didn't give a shit either. Barber worked hard and made some plays and I think Felix Jones did, too, and Austin is still a receiver that knows how to make plays happen. But everyone else played foolishly. Stupid carelessness caused the Cowboys to make no effort and fumble just second before the half and let the Redskins score and get way ahead and then the last play of the game was the Cowboys winning touchdown -- yet it was not allowed because a lineman was holding. Stupidity like that is what they had disappointed us with for most of two decades now. I remember watching the Superbowl with them when Mark and I were still dating and that was the last time they were successful at all.

And I haven't heard from sister all week except a post or a comment of Facebook (which I hope she realized doesn't count). They went to see my younger nephew in a show where he was performing Friday night and neither Mother or I have heard how that went. I emailed her yesterday and haven't had a response. Weird, as usual.

Alright, I realize I'm just rambling now and there's lots to be done today. I guess I'd better get going and get after it and hope for the best.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland