Thursday, Sept. 13, 2007 11:41 am

Rolling silverware

I have been so confused for two days now on what day of the week it is. I really feel like this should be Friday. And, boy, do I wish it were! Except that my nephew, or both, might come down tomorrow night and there's going to have to be some serious housecleaning done before they get here. I hope they can make it.

I spent a serious part of my day yesterday walking around the building, looking for different people to ask questions of and try to get a solution to a dilemma. It was very frustrating. VERY. The questions was, they wanted me to host our football watching party at a bar on Sixth Street with skimpily clad waitresses. A bar for men. I don't have a problem with those bars existing, I just have a problem with being a part of it. Nothing like an overweight, middle-aged woman to pull the attention away from a woman showing her navel and dancing on a bar. So I said I didn't want to do it. Laser had asked the Fat Man to do it (because he had run out of options) and he had said no. Then Laser discusses this all with the Hamster and when my objection comes up the Hamster says "Well, that isn't a reason that she can't do it..." Now, the discussion wasn't all at the same point, they weren't comparing my No with the Fat Man's No one-on-one, but if had come down to it I was damn well prepared to say that if he could simply say "No" and not have to "justify" it in some way, then I damn well could say "No" for a reason that 75% of the women in our building (and our listening audience?) would agree with. Me and Laser and Double K went here and there and yon (they were on my side, but we just didn't have options) trying to find a suitable replacement. I was all for using just our interns and giving them the talent fee, but we didn't think we could slip that by the Hamster. Fortunately, the sloth that does traffic was agreeable (eager!) and he will be our host there. I'm so relieved. I am sure that the crowd that will be drawn to this place for a watching party will not be made up of our listeners to a great degree, so I would feel like an idiot interrupting their drinking and partying to say, Hey, wanna koozie?

The Hamster is really getting on my tits a lot lately about the website, too. I'm doing my best to update so he has no reason to complain, but it irritates me mightily to get email after email (to us all) about websites. Am I a webdesigner or am I a jock?

Last night we had a good show at the cafe. The weather was very pleasant and he worked so hard to keep the audience entertained. I was even taken by surprise when he did a two-song encore when I thought he was through for the night. Very good. I enjoyed hearing a long involved UFO story from the opening act's guitar player. He saw it in May and he has this Mississippi accent that won't quit, so it was fun to hear it. No doubt he saw a UFO.

The afterparty last night wasn't unbearable. Only two more to do, thank goodness. Glad to be home afterward and see the season finale of Rescue Me. Wasn't the best finale ever, but it made me very sad when the dad died in the end. They were sitting at a ball game when Gavin discovers his father is dead. It made me think of Daddy and wish I had been with him when he died. But I wonder how that would feel? How long would you just sit and be in shock and want to take it in and how soon would you want to move on with the process and let someone know that he is dead. I am crying right now thinking about poor Daddy dying alone in the hospital, but I think some people pick their time and obviously God picks their time, so I know that was the right time. But still, I guess I am just sad that he had to die and we don't have him with us anymore.

Mark has already had to go to work for an early load-in, something related to ACLFest tomorrow. I'm very glad I don't have to be a part of it all.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland