Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009 12:44 pm

A week already?

A week already? I need to write here more often. The biggest news was that Dru had a heart attack on his front porch and almost died. The family was nearby and did CPR and got him to the hospital, where he still is. They did surgery Monday night and put in stents and he still needs another stent and a pacemaker, but he may get to come home Monday. Scary stuff. When he woke up, his first question was "What happened?" which was a good neurological sign.

I tried my best to work a lot of hours this week, but I only got about 21. I had to go voice track Wednesday afternoon so that day was only 2 hours. I hope to do some of Jose's work this weekend to make up for it. I hope I hope. I didn't have much Stern work, either so the paychecks are getting skinny. And I didn't even GET any of the checks I was expecting yesterday. I hope something is in the box today.

We have had a glorious week of rain rain wonderful rain. It started Wednesday morning. I got up early and sat on the porch and enjoyed it. It hasn't really stopped much since then and there is flooding, etc., but as long as the lakes are getting some and my lawn is getting some, I'm so happy.

I wrote about our trip to the cactus show in my other blog, so I won't go through that again.

I have shopped for a computer this week, but Dave says to wait until the new Windows 7 is out next month, so I will. I need to examine our finances closely. I need to be paying extra to the credit cards, but Mark bought stuff at Best Buy and that is taking some of the extra (what extra?) and my checks are skinny. I hope when the voicetracking pay starts coming in it will ease up or those can immediately go to a card. I hope he pays promptly.

I did my interview with Randy this week. It was good to talk to him again. I miss these kids I used to talk to so much.

I'm going to lunch with Dinah on Friday. I read her latest book over the weekend and it was really good. It was a typical romance novel, but so well written. I'm reading a piece of crap now and that irritates me. I want a better story (not a typical romance) but written as well as hers. Reading hers and being back in touch and looking forward to lunch makes me consider doing nanowrimo again. We'll see.

Jamie at work is also a wanna-be writer. I told her about nanowrimo and she was encouraging me to do it with her. If I had a competition or a person to report to, I might be inclined to do it. I need incentive. I need a good story, too. I need to think of ideas.

I am going to try to clean up my hard drive and computer a little more today and eliminate process hogging software. I put the winamp player on here to listen to the El Campo station, but I think it takes up room, so it may have to go. Facebook offers a Facebook Lite option now, I hear, and I may switch to that, too. Facebook makes my Firefox crash every day.

Football this afternoon finally. All of it was pay-per-view last weekend (texas and baylor anyway) and today they are both on REAL TV. And tomorrow Cowboys. I'm excited. I have to go voicetrack tomorrow, too, and John Michael may come by. A busy weekend, for sure.

And cousin Bill sent me the latest Cunningham disc. I hope I can open it on this computer. It hasn't liked discs lately.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland