Tuesday, Sept. 12, 2006 11:10 am

Crazy week

Big blood drive yesterday. Pretty hot to be there outside, but I went in and gave blood so that gave me a break. My poor crew had to stay out there and suffer. A cousin I met just last month at the reunion came by and gave blood. She's so cute. She reminds me of my mother and aunts and cousins, very smiling and happy (like she's in denial!).

I had to come by home after the blood drive because I forgot my backup for the logs. Nice to have a breather and change clothes, but that put me into work right as I started my airshift. I was making so many mistakes. And I wasn't the only one. My traffic guy ended with the wrong station's outcue. When I start making mistakes like I was making I just hunker down and do the bare minimum to reduce the chances of screwing up. It all ended up okay, but it started out a little hectic with Cotton calling the second I walk in the room, ready to record his breaks for the blood drive. That irritates me that he always wants to record, too. Do them live! This is radio! Then we had the EAS going off for flash flood warnings. Not a crazy afternoon, but enough going differently to throw me off my game. That and I was low on blood.

It was also 9/11 and I live mostly in denial about that day five years ago. But Cotton, per the boss's approval I'm sure, had put in vignettes and patriotic songs and that just kind of gets in my craw. I'm patriotic, but I see this as more of a solemn day, not a flag-waving day. I don't know, but I think radio listeners are mostly ready to just have normalcy instead of more and more of the tragedy of it all. There is so much of that on TV every minute.

Last night I thought about not going to the east side, but I'm so glad I did. A lot of the regulars were not there, which was odd, but it was a good crowd, not too overcrowded, and Pinetop sang and had a good time. PKSax played too along with a friend of his that used to play for Marcia. The band was really great last night in all ways. I stayed until the end, so I'm dragging a bit this morning and still need to do some work.

This new website personality page is kicking my ass. It just takes SO much time and effort to update it and then when I go look at it on the real web my fonts are not what I had them as and I have to go back and do it all again. And you can't even set your own fonts and sizes. There is a default, but if you cut and paste from Word you can make it sort of right... sometimes. Frustrating, for sure. I need to go look at some of the top ones and see what they are doing to drive traffic to their site. There is a contest to get more traffic.

Today should, hopefully, be a pretty normal day except for a big giveaway on the air. Tomorrow and Thursday and Friday will be more anxiety-inducing. Maybe I'll try my new EFT techniques seriouslyl and see if it helps reduce it. I'm sure it will with the help of a nerve pill!

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland