September 02, 2003 12:29 am

Labor Day No Labor

Labor Day. And I had a holiday! Imagine that! Not a "hey, let's go out and do something like have a picnic"-type holiday, but a day off, and that is a blessing in my way-too-busy and too-hyphenated life.

I spent my Labor Day holiday sleeping, watching Mark pack, taking him to the airport to send him on his way to Holland, and then sleeping some more. It was all recovery time from a very busy Sunday.

Jack Ingram had his Real American Music Festival in Helotes at Floore's yesterday. His manager took me and some others down on a nice limo van and treated us very nicely. It was a great evening. Music from Kevin Fowler, James McMurtry, the Bottle Rockets, Caitlyn Cary, Two Tons of Steel, Pat Green, and Jack himself. The rain stayed away, the beer was free, not too hot, couldn't have improved on it. My boss and his wife went with us and that made it more fun for me to have someone I like to hang with. The limo bus brought us back through the rain to Austin and I made it home to the house about 3 a.m., totally wiped out exhuasted.

I've been especially worn out lately because we've been having new carpet and tile put in the house. I feel rich to have such beautiful stuff underfoot. Of course, I've also had four workmen underfoot for days. They swore they would have it finished by Saturday, but they will be back for a few final touches tomorrow. They've been here everyday about 8:30 and stay late into the evening. I don't envy them their job and I admire their work ethic, but I want my house back! Saturday was the longest day for me. I came home from work, Mark on the road, to make sure that the kitten was okay since he couldn't go outside. He was hiding in the back of a closet so I'm glad I came home. But, through the afternoon I was cordoned off first in the master bedroom and then in my office, as they worked in the rest of the house. No internet, no real "stuff" I could do. I talked on my cell phone a lot and read my book. So glad to see them finally leave, except then I couldn't find my car keys and I was starving so I resorted to ordering pizza until I could get my hunger satisfied and calm down enough to search for keys.

Tonight I am more bummed than I thought I would be. My new guitar-playing friend, what did I nickname him? the double-D? Maybe. Anyway, he was supposed to be back in town to play tonight. I was dragging this afternoon and would have preferred to have stayed home, but I figured he isn't here often so I had to go to see him play. I almost called him to make sure I was on the guest list and touch base, but I hate to appear too overeager or act like I am expecting more from him. I didn't call. I get to the cafe and find out the music has been cancelled for tonight. Fuck. I called him at that point and he, too, had only found out this afternoon. Their excuse about "being flooded" by last night's rain was thin, at best. I saw an hour and a half of downpour followed by music two weeks ago. I think they just knew they weren't going to get a crowd on a Monday night. I don't know who gets paid what or who gets the door, etc., but I think they scheduled it without thinking about it being Labor Day. Anyway, he and I had the nicest conversation we have had so far and it was good to talk to him. He's just another one of my fun fantasy boys, but he is also very nice.

Tile guys will be here early in the morning so I'd better try to go to bed. As exhuasted as I have been for days, there should be no trouble sleeping.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland