2000-09-11 2 pm

Spokane

Here I am in Spokane---and so ready to come home. Okay, it is nice to be somewhere where the temperature might top out at 70 for the day and where I've actually seen rain over the last couple of days. And it is wonderful to see green lush grass and flowers blooming everywhere. And pine trees and mountains and flowing rivers and full lakes. But besides all that, I'm ready to return to the land of Mexican food and barbeque and friends and family.

I arrived Thursday night and my hosts took me to the best barbeque in Spokane. These people are living deprived of what barbeque is. The word "brisket" brought no recognition to anyone's face so I requested barbequed beef. I received large thin slices of roast beef like you'd get in a deli for a sandwich. Too fatty and no barbeque flavor at all. And sauce? Yes, they served sauce but too ketchup-y and sweet.

I'm trying to be open minded and enjoy my stay. People here are very nice and they are treating me like royalty. I'm just lonely! Ready to be home. Counting the nights. Tonight will make my trip halfway over. I'm working this week where I was free for the entire weekend. That should make it go a little more quickly. I hope so.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland