Saturday, Sept. 10, 2005 12:49 pm

Football

I have a day off ahead of me and I am too groggy to get started on it. There are things in my mind I want to do, but my body is not cooperating so far. I don't quite know how to get it jumpstarted. I suppose I will go get dressed and then find something to eat and that may help. I know if I just BEGIN, the energy will come along.

I did an exciting thing for me on Thursday... now, don't laugh... I rode the bus! I haven't ever ridden the Austin busses and this wasn't even a "real" bus, just the Dillo, but I finally did that much. It is a start. I would like to ride more and maybe now I will. I rode Thursday because I was already parked at the Park and Ride and I needed to go downtown to the bank where the stations were having our radiothon for hurricane relief. The Dillo was perfect. I especially liked when I got back on in the evening and the driver said "Welcome back!" I felt like I was part of the city. I enjoyed seeing Congress and being able to LOOK at stuff while I was driving down the street, too, instead of having to, well, drive!

And there was the obligatory crazy person on the bus, too. Red dress, high heels, bobbed wig, bad teeth. You may know him. I mentioned it to my sister and she had seen him when she was in town visiting. I had never seen him before, but I guess he just a typical Austin mentally-challenged transvestite.

Yesterday I drove up to Duncanville to see my nephews' school play football and see their band play. The younger is drum major and I hadn't seen him in that capacity. He was really good. He remains so serious through everything. I don't think he ever cracked a smile. He certainly didn't smile to acknowledge me, just a slight lift of an eyebrow to let me know he saw me. The older, senior nephew broke into a wide goofy grin and started waving like a maniac. He can have more fun because he is, after all, a senior and just a clarinet player without responsibility in the band.

I drove up late and made my sister wait a half hour for me, which made me feel bad. I drove like a maniac to get there, but my speed didn't get me there as early as I wanted. We had a nice dinner and visit before the game. Cousins that live nearby and her mother joined us at the game and that was fun. The long drive home after was not so fun. I didn't get tired, just very sore from being in one position for three hours. Glad to be home and to go to bed. And glad to not have to get up this morning and drive home.

Today I will get busy. I will get things done. And then I will watch UT kick some Ohio State ass... or at least give us a good game, I hope.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland