Sunday, Oct. 09, 2005 11:39 am

Gorgeous fall

I see the date and it is my little cousin's birthday. Well, little, I guess he is 25 today. But when you are around them when they are little tiny babies (actually, he was quite a hefty baby) and see them grow, they are always your little cousin. My favorite memory was when we had a Halloween party at their house. That family is just nuts over Halloween and I've never understood that. They year they had a costume party and we all attended. I was living nearby with the roommates and we all dressed up that year. I dressed as Michael Jackson. Now, believe me, he was weird at the time, but wildly popular and not nearly as weird as he became. Nor had he been accused of any crimes at the time. Their party was a huge success and my costume was a big success and all through the party, little cousin "T" would say, "Come over here Michael Jackson" or "Watch me do this Michael Jackson." As I left the party, he was saying "Goodbye, Michael Jackson" and his mother said, "Now, T, do you know that that is Pecan?" If I four-year-old can blush, he did. He totally thought he was a lucky kid to have Michael Jackson at his party.

The sun is shining and I must get outside and enjoy it just a little bit. I don't know why I have this reluctance to just go outside. I keep thinking of things that need to be done (that I probably won't do) that will keep me in and I delay and delay until it is dark and the day is over. I will get out later because I have to go host a festival up on the north side of town at the farmer's market. I've never been there and this festival is new. I will be surprised if there is anyone there. We'll see. At least it is a beautiful day and it is over at 6 pm so I won't be out late.

Yesterday I did watch Texas beat OU. It was a relief. Glad it wasn't close except for maybe the first quarter or so as we fumbled every chance we got. If OU had been able to capitalize on any of that, we could have fallen behind, but they were bad and we were better and that is behind "us" now. "Us." Like I had anything to do with it.

Okay... first, I am going to get dressed and go outside and sweep the sidewalks. I am going to trim the garden a little bit and pull a few weeds. Once I get my rhythm going, I will enjoy being out there, I know.

Then, if I am back inside with time to spare, I am cleaning off this desk. I know I know that I say that a lot. But I am working on expanding my clean areas. I am getting very good at keeping the kitchen under control. I don't just throw dishes into the washer, I wash dishes as they get dirty and try very hard not to go to bed with dirty dishes in the sink. And I make the bed every day so the bedroom is controlled. I have those two areas under control. The living room pretty much stays under control on its own. Now, if I could just control this office a little bit more... one surface at a time.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland